We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful winter vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful winter vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Everything about this place is nice - charming I should say. We stayed three nights here and had a good time.

The lounge and lobby area is very cozy with many large family style sitting areas with fire place and live music (only on Monday?). You can take/borrow board games and linger around as much as you want. In the evening this is what we did before and after our dinner. And you can order drinks from the bar too (yellowstone rum cocktail is good). It was great atmosphere where you could meet people and hear experiences (photographers, regulars, etc)

There is a ice skating rink and free skates right outside the lounge/lobby. But it was too cold outside at night.

The staff is helpful and take care of activity reservations, changes to dinner reservations, and other requests. The Yellostone association desk had books you could borrow and also stock maps and other helpful information.

The room was modern though, with Keurig coffee maker and supplies. However I had a couple of issues with the room. Our room was getting very dry at night and I had to request a humidifier - which they didn't have. Secondly we heard loud noises every morning and it would stop when we called up front desk.

The bear ski and gift shop and the fast food (Geyser Grill) is attached to this place. The Obsidian (restaurant - only option for breakfast, lunch, dinner) is also inhouse. Choices are very limited though. The staff @ Obsidian were warm and friendly.

All activities (snow mobile, geyser tours, ski, snow shoe) start from here. BTW, as the name suggests, this place is just steps away from the Old Faithful geyser and the visitor education center.

Room Tip: Avoid room near vending machines and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    405
    166
    70
    28
See reviews for
306
388
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I were traveling with my parents back in September. We were visiting GTNP, YNP and GNP within a two week period, so it was important for us to stay inside of the parks. We reserved a room here and loved it! Having read a ton of reviews on lodging inside the park, we were not expecting much. We were surprised at how modern the rooms were. More importantly, they were very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly as well. Our only mistake was only booking one night at this lodge!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Old Faithful Snow Lodge is the only location "inside" the park that you can stay at during the winter season (yes, Mammoth Hot Springs is inside the park, but way on the north side...).

We stayed here for Christmas and had a very nice time. The rooms were surprisingly large and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was clean and the housekeeping staff was excellent (chatted with the gentleman cleaning our room and his supervisor as they were doing a quality survey - very nice!). We were able to check in around 12:30 PM, which was great, as it gave us a chance to get on the snow shoes and go exploring

We were on the second floor in a room with a single king bed. The room included a Keurig coffee maker and a mini-fridge. Our location was good as we had direct view of the outside ice skating rink. Since it was Christmas, we expected things to be a bit on the noisy side, and it was. However, you couldn't help but smile when kids were running up and down the halls with their new presents.

Probably the only "down side" is cost. Keep in mind when booking during the winter season that you will need to take some sort of snow coach or other transportation as you can't drive your personal vehicle. This can get expensive depending on how many folks are in your party. Also, if you don't want to snow shoe or cross country ski all day and want to get outside of the Old Faithful area, you will need to arrange to take some of the various tours offered by Xanterra or other providers. Again, these can be expensive and add up fast!

P.S. A note on food: during the winter season, it is strongly recommended to make reservations in the dining room. They do have a fast food "grill" place as well, but the food there was not impressive. Dinners range from about $13.00 to $35.00 per person, but they are pretty good. Avoid the wild game "mini-sliders" for dinner though, as they weren't impressive. For lunch, I highly recommend the honey chicken on a pretzel bun (or something like that). It was delicious and decently priced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

So very exicited to have found a room @Old Faithful area Sept. 2011. Snow lodge is fairly new,but looks 1940ish in decor. Asked for a quiet room since friends recently stayed there complained of adjacent noise from dorms. Given 3rd floor room. Open window is your air conditioning and adjacent dorm had a rowdy lowd party that kept us from sleeping good. Management did everything they could to make up for it, free breakfast, and it was good despite other reveiws. Management also gave room discount since we didn't sleep well which affected our next day's enjoyment. But fantastic location as you are there early am and late evening when most day visitors are gone. Good place to hike the enter basin area,see fantastic scenery, pure clean air.

Room Tip: Any room near the young employees dorms could be noisy @night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed in Snow lodge on our first 2 nights and last night of our 6 day trip to Yellowstone. The rooms give a very cozy feel. It was July, kind of got warm and we tried to find how to turn on the AC. Guess what we found! A small fan hidden in the closet, which served the purpose. First 2 nights we were on 3rd floor with a beautiful view to Old Faithful. But on the return night, our room was on ground floor, next to the entrance lobby, window facing the parking lot. Kind of noisy, when we left windows open. Good service and very clean.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor rooms next to lobby entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Concur with the many positive comments. Best area to stay to see Old Faithful, be in the park, and wander around on foot to include the amazing historic Old Faithful Inn next door. Expensive hotel, but nothing in Yellowstone is inexpensive. WiFi spotty and and expensive but the only place in the park that has any communications with the outside world (if that is a feature). Enjoy this hotel and area. Staff is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed here in October 2011 after all the other accomodation options had closed for the season. The hotel is new and comfortable, the rooms are nicely furnished and spacious. Bathroom is good. Great location, only a few minutes walk from Old Faitful and perfect for walking in the area at sunrise or sunset.

The room has a fridge and tea/coffeemaker. The hotel has a restaurant and a snackbar. The food is not really good in either, see other reviews. Make sure you don't get a room near the snackbar as it smells of dirty deep fryers. The restaurant has a long wait (they don't take reservations) and the food is expensive for what they offer. Service was good though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.