We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellowstone National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Yellowstone River Falls

Lower Yellowstone River Falls
Yellowstone River, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Improve this listing
Visit Lower Yellowstone River Falls like an insider
Top Rated
$1,400*
and up
4-Day Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular waterfall located in Canyon Country.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yellowstone National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family and I visited Yellowstone as a part of the tour we booked through Tous4fun.com. I have heard others talked about how beautiful this place is, but the beauty of this place is really beyond description and is a place definitely worth the visit. We traveled a long distance to Yellowstone and I was beginning to feel that my money was wasted as we spent such a long time traveling from place to place and don't really have much time at each destination. However, when we arrived at Yellowstone, we instantly felt that the trip is worthwhile. I have been an active traveler and have been to many places, but this place is really my favorite so far. I definitely recommend anyone to visit Yellowstone, especially during end of May, as snowfall beautifully decorated the falls and other sites in the park, making the scenery extraordinarily breath-taking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    54
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very pretty and well worth a visit if you have time. Would recommend spending some time in this area of the park.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach County
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“One of Yellowstone's Most Awe-Inspiring Sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

You can view the Lower Falls of the Yellowstone River from Red Rock Point... and that's what most visitors do. But a fairly long series of switchbacks down a nearby trail will take you much closer... for a much better view. Just be aware that what goes down must come up... and the hike back is fairly steep. The air is also fairly thin. If you aren't in good shape, don't attempt this hike. If you are, don't miss it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Breath Taking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It was a nice hike down to the falls. Not too difficult. Definitely a workout back up! Overall, had a great time!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very powerful in spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

It's great to see these falls in spring when snow melt adds to the force of the falls. It was cool to know the sudden drop on river's path is due to the edge of lava flows from yellowstone's mega crater 650 million years ago!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Yellowstone River Falls also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lower Yellowstone River Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Yellowstone River Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.