We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Faithful

Old Faithful
Center Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
307-547-2750
Improve this listing
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A popular geyser located in the Geyser Country region of Yellowstone National Park.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stopped to see on of the most famous attractions in Yellowstone. would recommend getting there 30 minutes before the estimated eruption time to get a front row seat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    242
    77
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Impressive, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was a bit underwhelmed to be honest, Old Faithful has a legend of its own and perhaps the legend is bigger than the actual now.

Still worth a visit though.

Be aware that even though you have sat for 30-40 minutes in the front row patiently waiting for the geyser to erupt, some ignorant visitors will arrive at the last minute and proceed to sit on the floor right in front of you.

Plenty of seating and standing around to accommodate this regular natural show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

First timers or return viewers all agree this is beyond cool. The ground shakes beneath you and tons of pressurized water explodes from the earth to put on a natural fireworks display. The beauty of Old faithful is its always on time to a schedule. Here you can find those wild animals roaming over to it in between shows to get a little heat from it as well. Quite the experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Must-See When Visiting Yellowstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a must when visiting Yellowstone. I would recommend getting there around 30-40 mins earlier than the time they guesstimate for the next eruption so you can get good seats or standing space. I was visiting Yellowstone with my friend and we arrived early, walked straight up to front and center and staked out a spot for us so we could get all the photos we wanted and be able to see. We are short so it's a necessity to get up close so we didn't have to stare at people's backs.

Like so many things in Yellowstone, an erupting geyser is something you obviously do not see everyday. Definitely worth a stop, there's a reason why this is an icon of Yellowstone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stop in the Lodge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Check the decor in the lodge and especially upstairs to get a seat early to view the next Old Faithful "show." Clocks inside let you know the time for the next eruption. Nice gift shop, restaurant and bar. Nice place to unwind after a long day. Old Faithful is a must see and will not disappoint.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Faithful also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Old Faithful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Faithful, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Faithful to your Saves list