We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back and do it in the winter.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Lake

Yellowstone Lake
Grand Loop Road, Between Fishing Bridge and Grant Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
307-344-7381
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Fishing, Kayaking, Viewing wildlife, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Yellowstone National Park's largest lake.
Indian River, Michigan
1 review
“We want to go back and do it in the winter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We did two tours with Yellowstone Vacations with Tim Daley. They were both excellent. Old Tim, as he likes to be called, was even better the second day, never expecting to see us again, we laughed when he arrived to pick us up on day two. Being a true "born in Montana" guide Tim was able to share so much and you could feel his true devotion to the park. We would return, especially during the winter, and take another tour with Tim without hesitation. We did both loops and saw such diverse terrain, we were never bored. Tim could answer any questions we threw at him, Great experience.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    125
    33
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mackinac Island, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE TO SEE WILDLIFE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed in Big Sky Montana , which is very beautiful too! Everyday we took a drive to Yellowstone, the key is to go slow or you will miss the animals. One day there were big horn sheep everywhere. We saw wild horses, eagles nests, buffalo, antelope, deer, bear and 7 grizzly bears; everything but a cougar. The park is like heaven for children seeing nature at its best. The best time to go is June, the animals have just come down from the mountains from winter snows and all the babies are there too.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Helpful people...wonderful boat tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I'm in a wheelchair, and I don't get to do some tours because of accessibility, but the people working the boat tour for Yellowstone Lake were extra helpful, and made sure I was comfortable and secure for the tour. The tour itself was very informative about the lake and the area. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone in the Yellowstone area.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, serenity lake!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 4 nights inside Yellowstone National Park at Lake Lodge cabin and the lake located acrossing from where we stayed . It is a very big lake and long. It was beautiful and quiet in the morning . It is great to take a walk or go jogging early in the morning to watch the sunrise. One day, we went down to the harbor to rent a power boat for $50/ hr for 6 people. Our boys(10yrs and 5 yrs) loved the ride. My son ( 10 yrs old) got to do some fishing ( children under 12 yrs do not need fishing license, and you can buy or rent the fishing pole, hook but no bait at their store ) while we were on the boat . Unfortunately, he did not catch any but my son had a great time to ried on the boat watching the scenery, birds flying by.... Beside power boat, there are row boat ($12/day) for rental or taking boat cruise ($ 25 pp for 2 hrs cruise) if you don't want to rent.
One thing the Park does not allow for fishing in the river. But Ok in the lake...
Other words, Yellowstone is a beautiful National Park and it must see and a great place for anyone to visit since there are so many things to see and many activities to do with good prices compare to other National Park ( we did Horseback riding here 5 years ago for only $60 per hour and the price is still the same today.) Or you can do River Rafting for $ 45 per person for 2 1/2 hrs adventure.. I know other National park these activities are cost much higher that here. Not to mention, to see tons of wild animals such as Bison, Mule Deer, Moose, wolf, bear...etc. I have never seen any National Park that have sich many wild animal to view.... Plus gysers, hot springs...It is a life time memories trip and unforgetable moments that keep us wanting to come back to this place again and again... A HAPPY TRAVELER FAMILY :)

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get ready to drive, and drive…and drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We came up to Yellowstone through Jackson and stayed in West Yellowstone. Each major destination in Yellowstone is upwards of an hour or more between spots. Plus an end of day drive of an hour or two back to West Yellowstone to sleep. Trying to manage being outside and exploring, seeing the different sites, and minimizing car time was a trick that's hard to pull off. Guess that's why the hotels in the park are always so booked.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Lake also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Yellowstone Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yellowstone Lake to your Saves list