We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have skipped if I had known more!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs

Mammoth Hot Springs
1 Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
307-344-2263
Improve this listing
Visit Mammoth Hot Springs like an insider
$649*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Cross-country skiing, Snowmobiling, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful limestone formations make this hot spring unique.
Tomball, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would have skipped if I had known more!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I read several reviews and one did say that if you do not have time to skip it. We spent one day on what I call the southern ring and loved everything we saw. We did skip a few things to try to make it completely around the southern ring in one day. We ended up getting to go back to the park for a second day later in the week. We took the eastern road up to explore the northern ring of the park. It was such a long drive and the scenery was nice but when we got to mammoth felt let down. As a whole little of it still seems active. We then had a long drive back down to the southern geyser area. I wish we would have just spent another day exploring the southern ring.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    155
    74
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazed by its beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Mammoth hot springs was one of the prettiest attractions at YNP. When I showed people photos, they thought they were paintings. There are different colors throughout. The white on top of the orange/brown is just beautiful. The walk around it is easy as well. I think this is a don't-miss attraction in the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing art of nature. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This site is amazing as it is just made by nature. It's cascading and bubbling attraction brings out the beauty of Gods amazing beauty. Take time and it's not far to it from your car. I was in awe of how these formations are imperfectly perfect. Take plenty of pictures and discuss this with your family as you take it all in! Definitely worth seeing. I will be definitely going back again soon. Planning for it again in June of next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“Where Ice Cold Water Meets Scalding Hot Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was a nice stop to take in where the cold water of the river meetings scalding hot water coming up from the ground to form a comfortable blend where people can sit in different pools. The hike from the parking area is approximately 10 minutes and an easy walk and there is plenty of scenery to take in...additionally a deer was seen not even 20 feet from the path simply eating while keeping one eye on those walking on the path. What is even more surprising is where the parking area is, one might think the water returns to a cold temperature; however, it was very mild.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Do the driving loop and boardwalks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When you enter from the North entrance this is the first thermal feature you encounter. the colors are interesting and at various areas the pools cascade down.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Hot Springs also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.