We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs

Mammoth Hot Springs
1 Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
307-344-2263
Improve this listing
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers
Activities: Cross-country skiing, Snowmobiling, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beautiful limestone formations make this hot spring unique.
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A lovely area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first stop during our visit to Yellowstone. You can get a trail map for 50c and follow the boardwalks round. There are no geysers here, just the hot springs. It was beautiful though, lots of terraces of geyserite deposited by the flow of the springs, and a nice cascade round the back of the trail. There were ground squirrels and killdeer. We saw a massive swallowtail butterfly and a hare here too. Worth a walk round to see the springs. I think there is wheelchair access to at least part of the trail.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    118
    56
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenland, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Here's a sight you won't soon forget - steps of white mineral deposits accumulated by ages of flowing hot water, and stained in colorful ways by microorganisms that thrive in the steaming water. There are boardwalks to view the base of the falls which are accessible enough, and more boardwalks atop this mammoth white mound - but for those with mobility issues, they should take the upper loop drive that has another viewpoint looking down onto the springs from above, after taking a walk out on the boardwalk near the Liberty Cap formation.

Those with sensitive noses, take note- the place smells like rotten eggs because of the volcanic nature of the springs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another Planet?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The different types of terrain you see in Yellowstone makes you think what it must be like on another planet....because you'll likely not see this many unique landscapes anywhere else. Mammoth Hot Springs is very cool and difficult to describe. You get a great view of the Hot Spring lodging area from the top of the Hot Springs viewing decks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best hottub in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Seriously, I could have stay put in the hot spring for several hours, but probably would have passed out. Wear your bathing suit! Phenomenal spot to take in the views, snap a few pictures, and swim in the best natural hottub of your life. So relaxing in summer and winter!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We did the loop and stopped here around noon. This place was a gong show. There were tour buses and people all over the place. We had to park about a mile away and walk. There is a large restaurant/grill at the base of the Hot Springs. The line up was out the door and we waited for a hour to eat. Unless you want to waste time pack a lunch. Once we ate we walked around and looked at a few hot water falls and were far from impressed. There is lots of walking with nothing to see. There are Elk all over the site and they have Rangers following them around so no tourist gets hurt. There is a large gift shop and a gas station as well. We expected a lot and were really disappointed. There are much better places to stop and see some cool things. Yellowstone is full of cool things to see and this is not one of them. If you are short on time and trying to do the whole loop, you can drive through this and not miss a thing. We would not come back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Hot Springs also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mammoth Hot Springs to your Saves list