We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience. A must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old West Dinner Cookout

Old West Dinner Cookout
Roosevelt Lodge Corral, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
307.344.7311
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Dinner Theaters, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome experience. A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A highlight to our trip. The staff was an A+, starting from our sit down instructor telling us stories, to our ride out into the valley and our shotgun rider giving us a history lesson on yellowstone to everyone at the dinner site. We laughed at the corny jokes and loved the old cowboy stories around the camp fire.
Ansley's not forget about the food which was fantastic. All you can eat New York strips, baked beans etc. and the cowboy coffee was some of the best I've ever had.
The ride and dinner area are in some of the most beautiful areas that are in yellowstone.
The somewhat expensive price tag for this adventure is sure worth it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    11
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Corny jokes but alot of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We took the wagons out to the campsite because we were unable to get the horseback ride. That was fine because Ben and Jacob, our driver and shotgunner, were keeping us entertained with history and corny jokes. The kids were able to sit up front and had an especially good time. The food was very good and we ate our fill. The coffee was excellent (thanks to Garth). Overall, one of the best nights we had on our vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great old fashioned fun for everyone. The wagon ride to the cookout was terrific. Our guide was informative and entertaining. We learned alot about yellowstone and the history of the park. The cookout itself was efficiently run and well organized. My kids had steak with coleslaw and corn muffins. My daughter loved the apple betty and went back for seconds. Many different soft drinks, juice and milk beverages available. I am a vegetarian and specifically requested a veggie option in advance. They said no problem. (Remind them again when you check-in at the corrall). I was pleasantly surprised at how good my veggie burger tasted. I noticed several other people with veggie burgers as well. The kids got to meet our team of horses and take photos. The cowboy flair of a campfire, cowboy coffee and a wonderful cowboy singer made for a fun rustic cowboy cookout experience. The ride back along the stagecoach road was filled with wildlife. We saw a bear, pronghorn, marmots and lots of plants. Very worthwhile activity. I would definitely do this again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Overall Dining Activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had SUCH a good time on the "Cowboy Cookout" at Yellowstone! We rode in the covered wagon to the cookout (be sure to do this so that you can bring your camera and take pictures!). We saw lots of wildlife during out journey to and from the cookout (black bear, pronghorn, badger, unita ground squirrel, mule deer, and marmot). The cookout included all you can eat steak (very tasty and perfectly cooked), home-cooked cowboy beans, cowboy coffee, cole slaw, potato salad, cornbread, peach cobbler for dessert. We were serenaded by a wonderful guide who sang cowboy songs, another guide told stories around the fire, and we met some wonderful people from our neck of the woods. The Wranglers who accompanied us on the wagons were well-informed and shared a plethora of history about the back-country and Yellowstone explorers. Very educational, and very interested and fun for all ages! Tip - there are bathrooms at the cookout destination, so don't panic if there is a line at the pick up point at Roosevelt Corral.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice 'western' experience, good food but rain was a factor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family booked the 2 hour horsback ride to the cookout. When we arrived for checkin, we were told that due to heavy rains the last few days, the trail was not safe and was closed. Therefore, they were unable to provide the horseback rides. We were disappointed but we understood because obviously weather is out of their control. They rebooked us to travel to the cookout on a wagon (wagon 8). I wasn't able to review whether those on horseback got better tables, etc because everyone who participated in this cook out, arrived on wagon.
I had seen other posts where people complained about the dust on the wagon ride. Because the ground was so wet, there was no dust. In fact, it started to rain on the way to the cookout and we lowered the canvas on the sides of the wagon to stay dry. Unfortunately, this also blocked our view of the area, which was pretty. Be aware...those who were on the back row of the wagon got spattered with some mud that was kicked up from the wagon along the way. Because the weather was threatening and it had rained some on the way to the cookout, most of us wanted to sit under the canopy. There was no priority of who got in line first so everyone just got in line for the food. It started to rain when we were waiting for the food so we got fairly wet....but we were hungry so we stood out in the rain. The food serving area was covered but our plates got a bit wet walking back to our table. The food was good and there was a lot of it. We really enjoyed the cowboy beans. When we asked the cooks about what was in them, they gave us a recipe card. We made it at home, and they are a great dish to take to a bbq. The steaks were huge and cooked to order. My family likes a range from medium rare to well done and all of our steaks were cooked perfectly. It was all you can eat and we did go back for seconds.
The rain stopped near the end so we were able to walk around a bit and get our pictures with the wagons and horses. The cowboy songs and stories were an added nice touch. We aren't coffee drinkers so we didn't try the famous cowboy coffee so I can't comment on that. While we ate, the guides sat with us so we had lots of time to ask questions and learn about their jobs and life in Yellowstone, which was very interesting.
In terms of wildlife, we saw a deer near the cookout and 2 black bears not too far away just as we were returning to the corral in the wagons.
We didn't get munched on by bugs, but that could have been due to the rain. We took jackets and really needed them since it got chilly as the evening progressed.
The rain caused the experience to be different than we originally planned, but we still enjoyed it. The scenery was nice and you got a genuine 'western' experience. During both the outgoing and return ride the guide told us some very interesting and informative stories about the surrounding area.
We would definitely recommend this experience. I would like to experience it with the horse ride and without the rain. :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old West Dinner Cookout also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Old West Dinner Cookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old West Dinner Cookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.