We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Brenwick Craig Road, Mile 102 Richardson Highway, Copper Center, AK 99573   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ethridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
470 helpful votes 470 helpful votes
“a great start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Last September I drove a 1700-mile loop in Alaska, and this was our first 'real accommodation' on the loop after a gorgeous sunny day on the jaw-dropping Glenn Highway out of Anchorage and Palmer (I should count Days Inn in Anchorage as our first - a quick overnight after a 13-hour plane ride - but that one is not terribly exciting). To get to the Princess Lodge, you turn off the Glenn and head south down the Richardson Hwy for a few minutes until you see the turn that leads you up a hill to the glorious red Lodge (no doubt inspired by the red decor of the nearby Kennicott Mine in Wrangell-St. Elias). We could only stay one night because they were closing the next day for the season. Another night would have been terrific because it's a beautiful location out in the middle of nowhere, but we had to make serious tracks for the next 3 weeks all over Alaska and I just couldn't make it happen. Like the Kenai and Mt McKinley Princess Lodges, the Copper River lodge is hidden up on a hill off the Richardson Hwy, halfway between Valdez and Fairbanks. It's an ideal overnight stop if you're headed in either direction and want to take your time going up or down the splendid Richardson Hwy, arguably the most beautiful highway in Alaska. Checking in was a little worrisome; online I'd booked the $99 room, and the woman at the front desk tried to play games with us and get us to upgrade to a mountain view. Probably would have been worth it if we'd stayed longer, but we were tired, arriving at around sunset, staying overnight, leaving at dawn, and were going to take a long walk around the grounds for an hour until dark. The walk around the grounds was really nice - the view of the Wrangell St. Elias mountains was stunning. The room itself was standard, certainly worth $99. We were so tired we ordered supper from the Whistle Stop bar and grill and took it to our room, but I don't even remember what we had - must have been uneventful. TV reception out in the middle of nowhere is not going to be great and wasn't. The log-shaped furniture was interesting but didn't look terribly high quality. We were on the second floor; a computer center with free use of the computer was right outside our door; that's a nice contrast to paying $5 every 15 minutes to use a computer at a New York hotel. Overall, the lodge was really nice and we would stay again if we go that way. The view outside sold it. We had just gotten to Alaska the day before and were still in a state of shock by the nonstop beauty all around us, so the Princess Lodge probably impressed me more than it would have had we saved it for last. Had we saved it for the end of our trip, it might have been a bit of a downer because the places we stayed afterwards got better and better. But for a first stop on a trip, it was a great start.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    78
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
109
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Very nice hotel near Copper River. Clean, quiet, refreshing stay after a hard day of driving. Hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The super saver mid-week special made it a fantastic bargin.

Restaurant was exeptional with fresh Alaska freshly caught seafood. Prepared perfectly. Good wine selection.

I'd go back here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

In a large town this hotel might have been just average, but in the Copper Center area, as a base camp for Wrangell-St. Elias National Park it was very nice.

Very nice views from the back of the hotel. The main restaurant was a little over priced, but the service and food was very good. The bar and grill were small but nice.

Lobby was a nice place to relax and look out over Wrangell-St. Elias.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stayed at the Princess Copper River Lodge for two nights in August as part of an Alaskan CruiseTour. The lodge is nice, but in some ways more like a hotel than a lodge. The restaurant was very good, delicious food and reasonable prices (for Alaska). The lodge's great room is large and comfortable, with beautiful mountain views. In summary, this is a very comfortable place to stay while in Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Its a professional hotel with no white goods in the room
but there is restaurant and all services inside.
there is wireless in room too

the room was big and clean

the staff is excellent
and the price is low

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Very nice lodge way up on the hill. Views are lovely but you do have to have a car to get about.I think a lot of people who use the lodge are on tours and are ferried by coach, although the loge does offer a shuttle around the area at a price. The rooms were clean and comfortable and very plush entrance and what you expect from a princess lodge., but beware they do not offer coffee in the rooms, you have to purchase it from the coffee shop, which is slightly inconvient to have to come all the way down in the elevator just to get a cup of coffee. I would not stay at the lodge again, we had better for cheaper in some of the other places we stayed on our trip to alaska

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Great value at the Princess Lodge. Clean, spacious and quiet. Lovely staff and great food. Room was quite cheap and had two queens or a king. Bathroom was lovely. A short walk to a gorgeous outlook with mountain views. Two restaurants, shuffleboard and some gorgeous flowers!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Brenwick Craig Road, Mile 102 Richardson Highway, Copper Center, AK 99573
Location: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Copper Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper River Princess Wilderness Hotel Copper Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.