We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Alaskan Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Lake B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Lake B&B
Mile 88.5 Richardson Hwy, Copper Center, AK 99573   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Venice, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Truly Alaskan Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Staying here was a great experience. As stated in previous reviews, the cabin was hand built by Jim and his superb craftsmanship shows throughout. The interior is cozy and immaculate. The cabin is located right on the shore of a beautiful lake with the snow-covered mountains of
Wrangell - St Elias National Park & Preserve visible on the opposite side. Jim & Linda Marchini are indeed friendly and gracious hosts.

One of the highlights in staying here was getting to know Jim. He is a 40+ year Alaskan resident who has had many fascinating experiences and is willing to share his extensive knowledge of the area. Walking into his hand-built log home for breakfast is like walking into a natural history museum. Jim is willing to cook just about anything you want for breakfast but be sure and try some of his great sourdough pancakes.

After staying here we really felt for the first time that we has truly been to Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was one of our favorite spots in Alaska. The hand-built cabin and furnishings were exquisite and no details were left unattended - inside or outside the cabin. The bed was super comfortable and the linens were extra special. The view of the lake and mountains from the cozy & clean cabin made us wish we could have spent more time at Willow Lake. Linda & Mike were friendly and helpful hosts and we enjoyed Mikes delicious breakfast. Their house is like a museum and we enjoyed Mikes naration as he gave us a tour. We enjoyed viewing the pipelines from just across the end of their driveway. -Carol & Ray, Lancaster, PA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halsey, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and two sons and I stayed here in early June, 2012 and absolutely loved the place. The cabin is all hand built by the owner, Jim Marchini, who is definitely one of the most fascinating people I have ever met. His knowledge of Alaska, its animals, and its people is a real education. Give him a chance to tell you some of his experiences there in the last 40 years! The cabin is beautiful, situated a few feet from Willow Lake, with a wonderful view of the Wrangell-St. Elias Wilderness across in the distance. It's QUIET here, too. Jim serves up a wonderful breakfast (yes, he cooks, too) and definitely one of the highlights of the stay there is his narrated tour through his museum-log home. (Yes, he built this one, too, and is it ever a piece of craftmanship.) Don't miss this place if you are anywhere in the area.

Room Tip: There's only one cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Willow B & B in June...unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night. This was one of our favorite places to stay on this trip. The cabin was hand made by the owner. Great attention has been paid to detail in the building and the furnishing of the cabin. Every little thing you could possibly need has been thought of. The linens were all high quality and a pleasure to use. The bed was comfortable and it was a quiet, peaceful atmosphere.

The Alaskan Pipeline has a great public viewing area with information boards just up the road from the cabin. There are also spectacular views of the mountains from the front porch.

You had your choice of a continental breakfast in your cabin or a full breakfast in the main house. We chose to take advantage of the main house and were glad we did! We were fascinated as Jim told us of his hunting tales and showed us his memorabilia. So interesting! We were then served breakfast and chose to have the sourdough pancakes made with sourdough starter that was older than I was! It was a great meal from great hosts!

We will definitely make this a stop on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Our recent stay at Willow Lake B and B will remain a highlight of our recent trip to Alaska. It is a darling, well equipped, hand built cabin with a gorgeous lake and mountain views.
We enjoyed sitting on the porch soaking up the views and barbequing a delicious salmon dinner from the fixings made available from our hosts. The moose/bear decor of the cabin is charming. The highlight of the stay was seeing and hearing about Jim and Linda's Alaskan experiences as modern days pipeline pioneers. We will now be sharing those stories in years to come.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed four nights in the cutest most peaceful log cabin on Willow Lake. We saw swans, the Wrangell Mountains, float planes taking off and landing and a double rainbow. Jim and Linda served us sourdough pancakes from a started that is 50 years old....yummy. The cabin is clean, welcoming and unique. We will always stay with the Marchini's when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowLakeBB, Owner at Willow Lake B&B, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hello Dear Guests and thank you for the kind words. Only one thing I would note is that we are in the Copper Valley area, not on the Kenai! : ) Hope one day to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were lucky to find this great place to stay. It was built entirely by the owners Jim & Linda Marchini, who couldn't have been more gracious hosts. The food was terrific, and the whole place is so beautifully hand-crafted; even the furniture! Overall a wonderful experience & even a nice bargain by today's standards & compared to others in the area. The view of the lake etc. was incredibile!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willow Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lake B&B

Address: Mile 88.5 Richardson Hwy, Copper Center, AK 99573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Center
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Lake is a beautiful shallow water lake in South Central Alaska. Beyond the lake the world famous Wrangell Mountains of the Wrangell St. Elias National Park are visible. At mile post 88.5 on the Richardson Highway you will stay in a cozy log cabin filled with the uniqueness of Jim's artistic touch. Although the guest cabin is outfitted with all the amenities of home, you will feel like part of the wilderness while you enjoy the tranquility and view of the wildlife near this serene Alaskan lake. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Lake B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Willow Lake B&B to your Saves list