We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VanCleef Homestead

VanCleef Homestead
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seneca Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
VanCleef Homestead
Save
You added VanCleef Homestead to your Saves list
86 Cayuga Street, Seneca Falls, NY 13148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Seneca Falls B&B and Inns
Phoenix
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If I could have rated this 2-1/2 stars, I would have. Although there were nice touches (chocolates in the room, a small vase of flowers, bathrobes), this bed and breakfast just missed the mark for me. We stayed in the Swaby Suite, two adjoining rooms with queen size beds and a very small bath with shower only across the hall. The owner was at church (on a Thursday evening) and her elderly mother was there to greet us (after much loud knocking and hand waving). She stood in the hall and pointed out things: your rooms are upstairs, the dining room is behind me, and the living room is in there. When I asked what time coffee was ready in the morning, she said “Yes, we have coffee.” I understand people have commitments, but at $175 a night, I think arrangements should be made to greet guests warmly. That is why we stay in bed and breakfasts and not Marriott Hotels. Carol said breakfast the first day would be at 8:30 to accommodate a couple who had not even checked in yet. Coffee would be ready at 8:00. Because I'm an early riser, I schlepped out at 7:00 for coffee at Dunkin Donuts. When I returned I was surprised to see coffee ready and breakfast being served to the couple who had checked in late. Breakfast was nice enough, but we had to leave early our last day and we were not disappointed in the least that we would be missing breakfast. Carol, the hostess, was cordial, but we did not find her to be overly friendly or helpful. She answered questions, but did not volunteer information about the area, things to do or the history of the house. We actually learned more about the home from a guest who grew up there. The second night we were there, the outer door repeatedly was locked; guests are not given a key for that door. We were locked out twice. Once it was my husband and when he knocked (for quite a while), Carol asked “Can I help you?” She didn’t recognize him from breakfast that day. Carol implied the lock problem was either us inadvertently locking the door or our 21 year old son being a “prankster,” until another guest who had checked in after us said “Oh, I’ve been locking that door.” There was a lamp in the hall that shined in our room at night. I turned it off one night and the next day there was a note that said to not turn off the light because it was on a timer. (There were two chandeliers that kept the hall illuminated at night in addition to that small lamp.) We stay at bed and breakfasts exclusively and the Van Cleef bed and breakfast is at best average, especially given the price range. With the number of B&Bs in the Finger Lakes area, you don’t have to settle for average.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the street which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancleefhomestead, Owner at VanCleef Homestead, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It is difficult to please all travelers, but communication with the innkeeper is key so that we can insure they have a restful and comfortable stay. If I am not aware of a particular need or concern, I certainly cannot address it. We are happy to accommodate special needs and requests. Early coffee (any day) or evan breakfast because of travel plans, are easy enough to do. The reviewer mentioned a couple having early breakfast. Those guests had been here three nights, and they had a long drive ahead of them. They requested a 7 a.m. breakfast of cereal, fruit and coffee to enable them to get on the road by 7:30. I have found that serving breakfast at around 8:30 seems to work well the majority of the time. When the husband of the reviewer was locked out twice in the first few hours after his arrival, I suspected a problem with the door lock and checked it immediately after the second incident. When it was again locked in the morning, a female guest mentioned that she had locked it the previous evening after coming in from a smoke. After that, I duct taped the lock latch securely so that no one could accidently lock it. The duct tape has been removed, and there has been no accidental locking since. Our insurance company requires the hallways to be illumined during the night in case of emergency. For the safety of my guests, we have a small low-wattage, energy saver bulb in the light mentioned, because the ceiling lights are turned off at night. The guest was the first to note the light bothered them, but they never told me. We are fortunate to have guests stay who have lived in our home, and they delight in sharing their memories with the other guests at breakfast. We have all types of travel information, area maps, and personal recommendations for things to see and do, but some guests come with their plans in place. We are happy to answer any questions and meet the needs of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LakeDistrict
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Situated on a corner (easy to miss if you're headed out of town quickly), the house is an amazing traditional colonial with all the trimmings. Delicious breakfast. Overall warm with a capital W - in every sense of the word. Superb!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

From the moment we got there, Carol took great care of us, lending an umbrella early on, and then leaving out drinks, cookies, and everything else we needed for a great stay.

Everything was clean, comfortable, and it felt like being right at home. Breakfast was perfect for the day ahead, and it felt like everything we needed was waiting for us there. Couldn't have asked for a better way ro recharge during a hectic trip!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancleefhomestead, Owner at VanCleef Homestead, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It is always a pleasure to host guests who appreciate the little details that make a difference. We make every effort to treat our guests like we would like to be treated, and it is rewarding to be appreciated. Thank you for your throughtful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London & Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We specifically visited for the connection to 'It's A Wonderful Life' and weren't disappointed.

The Homestead is beautiful, clean, and you're guaranteed a warm welcome. Family friendly with a wonderful attention to detail. We enjoyed home baked cookies and cold drinks in the dining room area. Next morning there was a great breakfast. Our bedroom was large on all fronts with a very large bathroom. We were very touched by the small bed the owner had specially made for our little one. Period details were particularly of note in all areas.

Unfortunately, there were some major roadworks taking place outside the property, but the owner made sure we were well looked after and got our car moved before the work started. Although this wasn't her fault, I don't remember it being mentioned either when we made the booking. You get woken around 6am by heavy duty machinery. Obviously, this is only temporary, but worth telling in case you want a lie in.

It's about a 5 minute drive into the centre of characterful Seneca Falls. Didn't do it by walking or public transport, but it didn't seem far away. Went to 'Parkers' for dinner, who were excellent and family friendly (and open quite late as well).

This was one of the more expensive stays of our holiday, but worth the extra dollars for the character.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancleefhomestead, Owner at VanCleef Homestead, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful pictures you posted to Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure hosting families, especially those who appreciate the era of the home, the service we provide, and the overall experience of our B&B. Your family was delightful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarya78
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at Van Cleef. Carol, the owner, is really sweet and caring. She paid attention to our needs and did her best to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was great, my husband was very happy that the b&b had a pool. Fun time, close to vineyards and some good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed two nights to do wine tours. Great location between Cayuga and Seneca lakes. The B&B was a bonus. Beautiful, charming house and bedrooms. Carol is a wonderful hostess and her breakfasts delicious. We felt very comfortable at Van Cleef and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Hope to go back again some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleischmanns, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed with friends 2 nights for "It's a Wonderful Life" weekend in Seneca Falls. Most welcoming B&B I have ever stayed in! Carol allows you to feel like you are visiting a dear friend with her warm, sincere welcome. Nicely decorated for Christmas. Bed very comfortable. Rooms charming, and a tasty freshly prepared breakfast each morning. Carol puts much time and thought into the "little details". A real gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VanCleef Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VanCleef Homestead

Address: 86 Cayuga Street, Seneca Falls, NY 13148
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VanCleef Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.