We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Persian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Restaurant

Rose Restaurant
126 Maple E, Vienna, VA 22180
703-255-2557
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 123 Restaurants in Vienna
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Persian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Plenty of parking out back. Menu has stayed the same for many years, though with new ownership, prices have risen, but still moderately priced. Most succulent lamb or chicken kabobs you'd find anywhere. One or two wait staff can slow service, which is the only reason that I awarded four instead of five dots. If you are not familiar with Persian food, ask for the zamaresh pallow instead of the regular rice. I think they charge a bit more now for that upgrade, but it is a rich saffron rice with currants, sometimes called jeweled rice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I wish we only lived closer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We make it a point to go here at least once a month. Not more than that because we would end up bigger than houses. We absolutely love the zareshk pollo with chicken kabob. my other favorite is the gheymeh badamjon. You also cannot leave until you have had the kashk-o-badamjoon as your appitizer. Love love love this resturant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Kheyli Bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been going to Rose for years, and it used to be the best Persian restaurant in town. They used to have the best kabobs and authentic Iranian soups and stews ( Khoreshes). It used to be a great place for locals and fans of Persian delights to go and enjoy an un-expensive meal.

Some months ago a group of friends and I decided to go get something to eat, so we went to Rose. They brought us kabobs with rice, and the rice looked ok, but it had a strong burnt taste. We called the waitress, who was a new waitress, and explained to her that there was a problem with the rice. We asked her to replace the rice. She did. The new rice had the SAME burnt flavor as the one we sent back. We did not eat the rice. We left it and just paid for it.

Last month I decided to give Rose another chance. This last time I went to Rose the food was so bad, that I am not going back there ever again!

We had the Fasanjoon, which is a stew (khoresh) with walnuts and pomegranate. The stew did not taste freshly made, and the chicken was tough and tasteless. It was almost inedible. Then we ordered the “Tandoori Chicken Kabob”. We thought it was interesting that they were offering an Indian type of food at an Iranian restaurant, but since we know how delicious the (real) tandoori chicken is, we decided to give it a try. Obviously we did not expect them to cook it in a real tandoori oven, but at least we expected it to have the tandoori spices. What a hoax! If I were Indian, I would have been so offended! They gave us some chicken kabob bathed in a green Jalapeno sauce!!!!! It was terrible. Why would they even dare to call such a concoction tandoori? Who knows!

Bottom line: As of 2012, I do not recommend Rose at all! Don’t waste your time or money. The food is not fresh, not good, and not original. The customer service is also lacking. Not worth it at all.
*******

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great place for carry out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We ordered food for carry out for 9 people, and the restaurant offered to package it "family style" which worked out so well, instead of having individual dinners. We had a big tray of rice and all the kabobs were together and there was a big tray of salad and a big bag of pitas. We had six kids and 3 adults and everyone found something that they enjoyed. The hummus was tasty and the chicken kabobs were seriously delicious. I LOVED the saffron rice.

I will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fabulous kabobs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We adore Rose and eat there (or from there) very often. The food is consistently delicious. I could give details but really, it's just solid food so go and eat it. You can do take put of eat in. It's cute but not big inside.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Rose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.