We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time at Cafe Renaissance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Renaissance

Cafe Renaissance
163 Glyndon St., Vienna, VA 22180
703-938-3311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Renaissance is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 122 restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: European, French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Vienna, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice time at Cafe Renaissance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband took me here for my birthday on a Tuesday in July and it was a very special meal. Yes, a little pricey, and, yes, a little traditional, but it made my birthday into a real event-- hard to believe from this restaurant in a pretty standard strip mall in Vienna. It feels like this place is from a different time--where the meal is an event and you have all night, not to be rushed. Very friendly service-- both of us ordered a glass of wine, and they were very full glasses! The food was decent--on the heavy side, I guess (with sauces). It happened to also be the birthday of someone at the table next to mine-- and we toasted each other-- it was fun! For dessert, we all ordered berries flame (prepared table side). Again, traditional--but fun!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    69
    15
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wanted to be able to say good things”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff and attentive service makes you feel like you are special. Unfortunately the "let me fix you something special" turns out to have a hefty price. Dishes are pleasing to the eye and have lots to taste. Over use of sauces and small dollops of random things mar the simple dishes. Seafood came out cold and was overcooked. It's a shame because they really try to please.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cafe Rennaissance continues to be one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I hesitate to write this review because it may make it difficult to get a reservation. Cafe Rennaisance is llocated in a small shopping center just off Maple Avenue in Vienna, VA. The chef, Ocean, is a second generation chef, and he takes great pride in his creations. You will not get a 2 or 3 star Michelin creation, but the food will be well conceived, prepared and presented. There are monthly wine dinners, cohosted with a local wine store. The ambiance is worthy of coat and tie, and you will often see diners celebrating a special occasion. If you do not see something on the menue that interests you, Ocean may be able to make something to your liking if he is not slammed in the kitchen. By the way, house wine by the glass is a great value - the pour is great. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A for effort - unfortunately not for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

An unlikely location for a gourmet restaurant Cafe R sits at the end of a strip mall a short distance off of main st. To be fair they did try their best to transform the appearance by placing large plants and flowers outside to make it somewhat more inviting. Once inside it is hard not to be struck by the sudden shift in ambiance. The mood of the room is dark, large paintings adorn the walls, and the walls themselves sport old-fashioned murals giving the room a mid 19th century feel. The menu is quite large with a wide range of selections including fish, poultry, meat. Equally as large were the nightly specials. However, the selections all seemed to have a common theme - and one not heard too often these days - heavy sauces with ladened with cream or butter. It seemed as though the chef made it to the "turn of the century" cooking class and stopped there.
I chose the rack of lamb for a couple of reasons. First, it was not accompanied by a heavy sauce and second a chef that could prepare dover sole in various sauces should certainly have mastered the art of cooking lamb. Apparently not... My meat was not very tasty and it seemed that the fat had been trimmed so severely prior to cooking that the meat was improperly savored leaving it with an unappealing taste. Others at my table fared better with stuffed chicken and flounder stuffed with crab meat.
As a starter I opted for the Caeser salad. It was served in a huge and quite novely shaped bowl. Sadly, the dressing had a bit too much mayonnaise for my taste and there were absolutely no overtones of anchovy or anything else of note.
For dessert we opted for the Bananas Foster. This seemed to be quite popular as they prepare it table side. It wasn't bad but it also wasn't remarkable.

This is a place I really wanted to like. The owner is charming. The wait staff are attentive. The restaurant is small but cozy. However, the food just doesn't make it I'm afraid. I'm going to be generous and give it a higher rating than I normally would after such an experience because the ambiance and attentiveness are truly unique. But, I do caution that this is not a cheap meal and if you cherish food over ambiance then there are better choices in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A cast of characters accentuating a great meal...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent date night with our first-time visit to Cafe R. Once you've entered the restaurant's non-descript strip mall facade, you are transported to a wonderful, romantic European ambience. From the moment we were greeted by the owner/maitre d' Saeed and our mischievous & charming waiter/bartender Weselin, we felt like regulars. Despite an attractive array of menu choices, we place our appetites in the hands of Chef Ocean Joseph, who visited our table several times. After a brief survey of our food interests, Chef Ocean promised a delightful meal - and he delivered! Perfectly seared scallops with a kahlua-banana sauce and crab-stuffed mushroom formed our appetizers. Grouper with a hashbrown crust and veal scallopini with port wine sauce were the basis of our main course. Heavenly cake, followed by bananas Foster filled us to the brim. The repartee among the staff was very entertaining, and they made quite a show in preparing the bananas Foster tableside. What a wonderful evening!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Renaissance also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cafe Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.