We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Ginger should be in top tier of Vienna Restaurants in tripadvisor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Ginger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sweet Ginger
120 B Branch Rd. SE, Vienna, VA 22180
703 319 3922
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 135 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sweet Ginger should be in top tier of Vienna Restaurants in tripadvisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have lived here for over 15 years and eaten everywhere in town and our favorite by far is Sweet Ginger if you enjoy sushi and thai food.No other Japanese restaurant in the Tysons area can beat Pete's Sweet Ginger (pete is the owner) for the best sushi and the best deal. Order the bento box and get a ton of food. Sushi is fresh and large quantities. Decor is special too and I believe Pete may have done it himself with nice lighting, often relaxing jazz in the background. But it is small so make a reservation. If you have been and you read this and like the place, do other diners a favor and write up a review. This place deserves to be among the top restaurants in the Vienna area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mid-atlantic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We have dined here before and had a positive experience. Monday must be a difficult night to staff? Our main course arrived before we'd taken 3 bites of our appetizer. And then we were essentially ignored. I had to make it obvious we were ready to depart by holding my credit card up. Disappointing service and the food just adequate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is our favorite sushi place in the Vienna/Tyson's Corner area. The sushi is excellent, as are their non-sushi dishes. Pete (the manager) is friendly and goes out of his way to make our experience a great one each time. They have wonderful sushi rolls, and the nigiri sushi is top notch. If you aren't a sushi fan, try the fried rice dish or any of their curry dishes The lemongrass fish is also excellent. I suggest calling ahead for seating since it is a small place and is very popular.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and selection; service is mediocre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Love the food at Sweet Ginger -- this is our 3rd trip in 2 months; one was a dinner party there for 14 people to celebrate a family event. Everyone loved the Asian, Thai and Japanese food selections -- high quality ingredients. The service is poor and they are constantly whisking away plates with food on them -- multiple wait staff doing this -- like they want to get rid of you as fast as possible. The wait staff are also on the cool side -- few smiles from the wait staff -- but I would rather have good food with frowns than bad food with smiles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My co-workers and I have been to this place several times for lunch and have never been disappointed. I always order their lunch boxes, you get a ton of food at a reasonable price. Sushi always tastes fresh. However, the staff isn't always as pleasant as they could be. It's a small restaurant and is always crowded at lunch but we always feel like the staff is rushing us. To avoid this we've started to order carryout.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Ginger also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sweet Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.