We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jammin Java

Jammin Java
227 Maple Ave., Vienna, VA 22180
703-255-1566
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 4 attractions in Vienna
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Attraction Details
Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Love this venue. The staff is always very nice. We have a great time every time we go- about 8 to 10 times a year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not my cup”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

This place is not as it appears. I went to a show there that was shut down. If you like alternate calm music its for you but I'm not a sleep at the wheel. I thought the whole place needed a facelift as warehouse chick is not for me but may be good for you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I loved that the doors open at 7 pm and there's music all night! There's seating if you want it, or you can get close to the stage. The bartenders are very nice, and the band members hang out with the audience after their sets.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small Personal Venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I have been to a handful of shows at Jammin Java, and while it isn't my dream venue, it gives nothing to complain about. The atmosphere is plain and simple, providing a personal small atmosphere in which the crowd can really interact with the musicians. The staff is also friendly and generally helpful.

Overall, the venue adds nothing to the overall experience, but it doesn't take away. Nothing special, but worth going to see a musician you like.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go for the music, not the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Visited Jammin Java for dinner and a performance by troubadour Darrell Scott (and opener Grace Pettis). My conclusion based on this experience: Go to Jammin Java for the music, not for dinner. As a music venue, the place is great -- an intimate atmosphere and decent acoustics. But at least on the night I visited, Jammin Java wasn’t really set up for dining. Other than a small section of tables -- all taken 45-60 minutes before the show -- the hall was given over to folding chairs, not conducive to balancing a salad plate and a drink. You could also eat in the bar area, standing or taking a stool along the wall and hoping that you could get a decent seat for the show after you finished eating. (Which is what I did.) The food -- a mozzarella salad and a roast beef sandwich in my case -- proved to be ... meh. I’d advise grabbing an early dinner elsewhere before going to Jammin Java for a show. Beers were reasonable ($5), the service friendly, the funky atmosphere a refreshing change for Northern Virginia. I can’t shed any light on Jammin Java’s daytime identity as a coffee house and family hangout, though I suspect it might be a cool place to enjoy a cup of coffee and read.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jammin Java also viewed

 
Springfield, Fairfax County
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Jammin Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jammin Java, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.