We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tequila Grande

Tequila Grande
444 Maple Ave W, Vienna, VA 22180-4221
+1 703-255-5933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 122 restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fresh Mexican Food in a family-friendly atmosphere made special for you.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were looking for some Mexican Food on our trip and found Tequila Grande. The food was very good with large portions. The service was a little slow, but we sat down about 6pm and the place was packed. The atmosphere inside and out was like a Mexican cantina. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    19
    21
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak and Cheese Burrito on Specials menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My son was just finished with a baseball tryout and we were looking for something decent (not fast food) to eat in Vienna. We hadn't had Mexican in a while so I programmed the GPS and it led us to Tequila Grande. I had my tablet so I looked on TripAdvisor and the reviews were mixed, some bad some good. Ordinarily, I would have passed on it but it was late (approx 8:30) on weekday so the chances of finding another restaurant was slim.

When we came in, there were only 4 tables that had patrons so not busy at all. We were seated immediately and were asked for our drink order. I hate being seated and then having to wait for my drink order so I was happy. I ordered a 20oz beer and the mug was cold. The waiter served us corn chips and salsa. I would say the chips were average at best and the salsa was pedestrian.

The menu was what you would expect but after conferring with the waiter, he suggested the grilled steak and cheese burrito that was on the specials menu. We both ordered the special and although I can't say it was the best burrito I have ever had (I have been to Mexico and Texas) it was very good and much better than I had expected.

This leads me to question the bad reviews. Sometimes the restaurant staff can't handle the crowds on a weekend and both the service and meal quality suffers. Based on my experience, this restaurant was very good and I will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“If you are from Texas, don't go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This was disappointing. The chips were cold and stale. The salsa(red, only) was fresh but tastless. The quesadias were decent but not attractive. The frozen margaritas were standard but the service was so slow they were melted. Don't waste your time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went for Father's Day. Unlike a lot of places, they did nothing for father's day. We went here last year and they did do something for Father's Day. We were disappointed. The food is ok. They are pushing their tequila drinks. I prefer them not to bring the cart around. If I wanted a drink, I would order it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tire Hill
2 reviews
“stopped in because it was close by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were tired from a day of walking around DC and did not feel like driving anywhere so we went here because it was in the same parking lot...Food was great and the service was great. Definitely was a lot of food for the money. Seemed like it would be a nice place to go hang with friends

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila Grande also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tequila Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequila Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.