We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopping place. Good Mexican food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tequila Grande

Tequila Grande
444 Maple Ave W, Vienna, VA 22180-4221
+1 703-255-5933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 133 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fresh Mexican Food in a family-friendly atmosphere made special for you.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hopping place. Good Mexican food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Recommend this place for casual eating. We really enjoyed the beef tacos. My niece's chicken burrito was the best; my shredded beef was good but, the chicken so much better. The refried beans were great as was the rice. The chips and salsa very good but the cheese sauce was even better. The price was fine. My only complaint was the mango peach margarita; I believe they forgot the tequila. After we finished we decided our normal sleepiness after one drink was absent; all we could figure was they forgot the alcohol! I would stick with traditional drinks from now on - just too sweet for my taste. Will go back but try to avoid traditional times because they were very busy - a good sign.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Va
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great chips and salsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place had great chips and salsa and some great margaritas. It is one of the better tex-mex restaurants in the area and pushes out some good food. The service is excellent and friendly. The price, given the portion size, is on point.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed, friendly setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have been to this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. The decor is warm and earthy with a rustic chimney fireplace separating the main dining area into two sections making this otherwise large eating space feel cozy. There's also a snug little bar that's far enough from dining room that you won't hear the tv in there. Outdoor seating evokes a Mexican courtyard complete with bubbling fountain. The view down Main Street is less than inspiring as traffic pours through the busy cross streets, but it's set far back enough from the road to make this a pleasant area. Service is friendly and prompt without being pushy. As with most Tex/Mex places, you get a basket of tostadas chips and a bowl of salsa, both house made and really tasty. Servers are happy to bring an extra bowl or two for the salsa "hogs" in your group. Basic tacos, burritos, enchiladas, fajitas are very tasty, plentiful, and inexpensive. Dinner entree prices are competitive with other like restaurants. I had the Chicken Margarita, a tasty blend of grilled chicken breast, onions, mushrooms, fresh spinach, and poblano sauce with a side of rice and salad. This dish also comes with a small pot of black beans. I asked for extra salad instead and the switch was made with no problem. Hubby had the chicken fajitas which arrive sizzling away with tortillas (corn or flour), guacamole, salad and rice. Tequila Grande offers specials geared to senior citizens and children as well as local law enforcement and teachers. There are also ladie's nights with half price drinks from the bar and early bird specials. It all adds up to a friendly neighborhood place that serves good food to couples, families, and groups alike with ease. We'd eat here again (and do!) and would recommend this spot to friends as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a late lunch at Tequila Grande yesterday. I don't know for dinner, but for lunch this is a great place. Fast and excellent service, delicious food and very low prices. Between my friend and I, we had a small beef quesadilla (not that small) which I had a hard time finishing, rice and beans, a good size salad, and club soda, for $17.50 with taxes (excluding tip).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Restaurant in the D.C. Region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This restaurant is located at the intersection of Chain Bridge Road (Rte 123) and Nutley Street - both major thoroughfares in northern Virginia, and next to a motel. We went on a Thursday evening and even then it was pretty busy. They have both indoor seating, and a small outdoor patio in the front of the restaurant, as well as a bar which is separate from the restaurant seating. We were seated and served fairly quickly, despite the crowd. The decor is reminiscent of a Mexican cantina with the (at least appearance of) stucco. There is even a fake parrot on a swing in one corner (not something I've seen in Mexico, but fun nonetheless). Though nothing can compare to Mexican food found in southern California, this is one of the better restaurants in this area. The selection and presentation are good (especially with the fajitas - they come sizzling in their skillet, with sides of rice and tortillas.) The enchildas were excellent, as were the stuffed poblano peppers. The childrens' burrito was big! Their salsa is quite good (mild / medium with fresh tomatoes, onions and cilantro) and the chips were served warm. If you are looking for Mexican food, I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila Grande also viewed

 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tequila Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequila Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.