We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food. Very good service. We recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant

Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant
2531 Chain Bridge Rd, Ste D, Vienna, VA 22181-5543
703-319-3888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 127 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food. Very good service. We recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We used to live in Vienna, VA and enjoyed this restaurant then. Since we have moved out of state we make a point of eating here when we are visiting the area. This time we ate there on Sunday, December 14. The Sunflower is an Asian fusion vegetarian restaurant. I usually get the General Tso's Surprise and really like it. My wife has celiac and thus has to be gluten-free, but she also had an excellent dish. So did our two friends who joined us. Prices also are moderate. We have probably eaten there a dozen times over the last few years and always enjoy it.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Even my meat-lover husband enjoys Sunflowe. Nice variety of dishes. Love the Golden Nuggets, but everytthing I've tried has been delicious. Nice, quiet plqce, but good for kids. Try it, you'll love it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Vegetarian but without the vegetarian Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

This place has different kind of dishes. If you are tired of all similar vegetarian dishes with uncooked vegetables then dtry this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I'm a vegetarian, but just because you write the words 'organic' and 'tofu' in your menu doesn't mean it's worth anything…. besides being a vegetarian I love the taste of vegetables and I love eating healthy, this experience was anything but…. the food was greasy, the sauces were full of starch of some sort, the tofu was of very low quality…. it was absolutely discussing, they even managed to take all the good flavor out of the vegetables out of them. I would be much happier eating a vegetarian option at any other restaurant that serves meat.
I will never go there again…. would advise anyone who likes quality food to avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants. It is small, clean and the staff is very friendly. The food is delicious and is fresh. The Vegan General Tso's Tofu is my favorite, but I also love the vegetable fried rice among many other dishes. The price is right as well. My children all love eating here too! Every time we go the bathroom is clean and the tables are clean and nicely prepared which is very important to me. The atmosphere is quiet, calm and friendly. Couldn't ask for a better restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.