We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarians/vegans in Northern VA have something special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant

Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant
2531 Chain Bridge Rd, Ste D, Vienna, VA 22181-5543
703-319-3888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 125 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Vegetarians/vegans in Northern VA have something special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

While it is certainly no Millenium in San Francisco, Candle 79 or Blossom in NYC, Sunflower is a treat for vegetarians/vegans in the NOVA area. Its sort of Asian meets hippie with an emphasis on Asian-inspired foods but also a good dose of macrobiotic dishes and a hippie style decor. The soups are really good. Spinach wonton soup is delicious and the "Hot Hot Shabu Shabu" (yes that's really the name) is out of this world. Popeye's Favorite is a nice comfort food dish of potato patties with spinach and seitan in a brown "hot pepper gravy." Comes with a nice side of broccoli. Gluten free tiramisu was good, especially since I haven't had tiramisu for 20+ years. Tofu pumpkin pie is also really good. Lemon juice in the sauce over the pie gives it a balance and keeps the dish from being overly sweet. Go there. Now.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Very good food, service in a comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The appetizers and main courses at Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant are very good. The food is well prepared with good ingredients. The dishes have interesting flavor profiles--delicious. The portions are generous. The menu has a gluten-free section even though many of the dishes can be prepared gluten free anyway.

The service is cordial and considerate. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxing.

The people who run Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant are doing things right.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Taiwan style vegetarian cuisine draws loyal patrons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Amazingly creative vegetarian dishes are adapted from Taiwan style Chinese dishes. Tofu in a variety of forms substitutes for meat and chicken, and does a good job of fooling the first-time diner. Brown rice is available and is my choice to accompany my entrees. The menu is extensive. It's advisable to get there early to beat the crowds, as this continues to be a very popular eatery.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We live about 90 min away but always stop here when in the area. The food is always awesome. The wonton soup is amazing and I also love General Tso's. My husband always loves whatever he orders too. Highly recommend!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Another disappointing vegetarian restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I only had one dish at this restaurant, so this review has limited validity. I ordered the Amazing Mushroom Palate: mushrooms in Thai basil sauce. Service was amazingly fast, a matter of a very few minutes. The white button mushrooms in the dish were raw and therefore not very tasty. The shitake, enoki and other mushrooms were cooked, therefore tasty. There were true Thai basil (Grabow) leaves in the sauce, but the sauce did not taste of them; it was a tasteless, thin brown stock. I could, and do, make better using the stock recipe from 1000 Vegetarian Recipes. A vegetarian restaurant ought to get their basic sauce recipe into the savory level or ought to be able to augment it effectively. To their credit, I ordered the Avocado Lemon pie from the menu, but they were not offering it, as they explained, because they were having difficulty in getting good quality avocados. Good move, even if I was disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.