We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, service in a comfortable atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant

Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant
2531 Chain Bridge Rd, Ste D, Vienna, VA 22181-5543
703-319-3888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 122 restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very good food, service in a comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The appetizers and main courses at Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant are very good. The food is well prepared with good ingredients. The dishes have interesting flavor profiles--delicious. The portions are generous. The menu has a gluten-free section even though many of the dishes can be prepared gluten free anyway.

The service is cordial and considerate. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxing.

The people who run Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant are doing things right.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    28
    17
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Taiwan style vegetarian cuisine draws loyal patrons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Amazingly creative vegetarian dishes are adapted from Taiwan style Chinese dishes. Tofu in a variety of forms substitutes for meat and chicken, and does a good job of fooling the first-time diner. Brown rice is available and is my choice to accompany my entrees. The menu is extensive. It's advisable to get there early to beat the crowds, as this continues to be a very popular eatery.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We live about 90 min away but always stop here when in the area. The food is always awesome. The wonton soup is amazing and I also love General Tso's. My husband always loves whatever he orders too. Highly recommend!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Another disappointing vegetarian restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I only had one dish at this restaurant, so this review has limited validity. I ordered the Amazing Mushroom Palate: mushrooms in Thai basil sauce. Service was amazingly fast, a matter of a very few minutes. The white button mushrooms in the dish were raw and therefore not very tasty. The shitake, enoki and other mushrooms were cooked, therefore tasty. There were true Thai basil (Grabow) leaves in the sauce, but the sauce did not taste of them; it was a tasteless, thin brown stock. I could, and do, make better using the stock recipe from 1000 Vegetarian Recipes. A vegetarian restaurant ought to get their basic sauce recipe into the savory level or ought to be able to augment it effectively. To their credit, I ordered the Avocado Lemon pie from the menu, but they were not offering it, as they explained, because they were having difficulty in getting good quality avocados. Good move, even if I was disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vegetarian even for a Carnivore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a must for your first venture into vegetarian if you are a carnivore. Just try their General Tso Chicken (yes its not chicken) and its better than any other real or not, in NVA if not the whole US. The menu is extensive and all the choices are a delicious surprise. Service is polite, fast and the place clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.