We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"My favorite Vegetarian Restaurant, so far!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant

Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant
2531 Chain Bridge Rd, Ste D, Vienna, VA 22181-5543
703-319-3888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 125 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manassas, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"My favorite Vegetarian Restaurant, so far!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I ordered the "Hot-hot, Shabu-Shabu soup" which has a very tasty clear base soup, lots of bok choi and brocoli, a little spicy. Surprisingly, a mushroom-beef look alike & taste like one, really amazes me. "Yuba" which is a roll of tofu skin, that looks like a "tripe" an ingredients from a Vietnamese "Pho" soup. Love, love this soup.
My husband ordered a veggie burger which he enjoyed so much. I would pass the veggie spring rolls next time. I love the decaf mixed herbes hot tea.
Service is prompt and friendly. Ideally if you are in a hurry too.
Definitely will go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Veg in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I love this place. They have a wide ranging pan-Asian (and beyond) menu. I would advise meat-eaters to avoid mock meat and focus on veg and noodle oriented dishes. But for vegetarians and vegans, everything is delicious. My favorite is called "Popeye's Favorite" which is potato-spinach patties with a black pepper gravy. If you want the super traditional Chinese vegetarian food, head to Yuan Fu in Rockville. But if you just want good Asian veg food in Northern Virginia, you can't beat this spot.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The selection and service were excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The Sunflower provides a wide range of vegetarian dishes that the non-vegetarian will find enjoyable. There are new foods to try and familiar favorites. If you didn't know it wasn't chicken, you would be surprised by some of the dishes. It's a nice atmosphere to enjoy with friends and family.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, CT
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food, well presented and prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

We found Sunflower on Trip Advisor
And we were very pleased with the delicious, well prepared food. The staff was friendly, casual and helpful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feels like a vegetarian highschool cafeteria.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

I can see why vegetarians may enjoy this place, but I wouldn't order the General tso surprise over just getting the real deal. I can't imagine it's healthier.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.