We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yama Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yama Restaurant
328 Maple Ave W, Vienna, VA 22180
703-242-7703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 125 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Sunday date night and Yama does not disappoint. Shared a fabulously delicious sushi and sashimi platter for two which came with a nice miso and salad. The plate was a great variety of rolls, and very fresh sushi. The evening was topped off with dessert, which we never have at Japanese restaurants, but the cheesecake tempura and red bean paste ice cream were simply delicious. If you are in the market for sushi, go here to this neighborhood gem

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good sushi in Northern Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were in the area looking for a good sushi restaurant. With help from Trip Advisor, we found Yama. Although the restaurant was full on a Saturday night, there was an open table for two and we were seated quickly. Their sushi was very fresh and the portions were very generous. They had a few sushi roll combos I had not seen before. I really liked the Tiger roll (soft shell crab and avocado topped with eel.) The server was very attentive. Not once did we need to waive her down. I will definitely visit Yama again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good sushi, unique specials!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our experience at Yama as visitors to the area. Obviously a local favorite, we had several waitresses attending to our table. The sushi is reasonably priced and very fresh. A couple of the rolls weren't what I expected, but overall a great choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is welcoming, has great service and wonderful food. The sushi was fresh and delicious. We enjoyed it so much we ordered more! Again, the service is great without hovering. We recently had a late lunch and were not rushed - simply asked if we needed anything additional since the kitchen was closing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Favorite Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

To be honest, I don't really want to write this review bc I don't want any more people to know how delicious and amazing this place is. It is the best sushi restaurant in northern VA hands down and one of the best in the entire DC area. The sushi is ALWAYS fresh, the portions are terrific and the prices are more than reasonable. The owner is super friendly and does his best to seat you at your reservation time but often that can be an issue on a Fri/Sat night. Plus there is no real place to wait when it gets busy so standing in the vestibule in close quarters with complete strangers can be quite awkward. I honestly have lost track of the number of times I've been here, it is that darn good!

Word of advice... it can get quite hot in the restaurant, don't dress in layers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Yama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yama Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.