We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yama Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yama Restaurant
328 Maple Ave W, Vienna, VA 22180
703-242-7703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 125 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Seriously, this place has some of the best sushi I have ever eaten. Its all super fresh, delicious and and reasonably priced! I absolutely loved it and can highly recommend it. Reservations are advised!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, clean, friendly, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very fresh fish, clean-tasting sushi, and friendly efficient service. The sushi is better than at Sweet Ginger, down the road (which is not bad at all). Available for weekday lunches, the bento boxes are a very good deal. My wife and I keep going back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Yama is the best sushi in Vienna, and very good for anywhere. I have been going to Yama for years and it has been consistently excellent. The sushi and sashimi are among the best I have ever had. Clean, fresh, neat, well prepared, occasionally imaginative, always delicious. The service is wonderful and the miso excellent.

Outside the sushi and sashimi the restaurant is good, but many of the dishes are too sweet. My wife, who foolishly doesn't like sushi, has trouble finding a good meal here. I would love to find more options for her, so I could have the sushi more often. But, if you want sushi or sashimi, this is the very best place around. The prices are reasonable, the service wonderful, and the fish the freshest in town.

The a la carte prices are fine, but the sushi dinner or deluxe are real bargains. This is a standard for me, better than all but the most expensive of other options, and much better than anything else in town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great sushi at a reasonable price (for sushi that is)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Yam provides soup and salad with you dinner when they are extras at every other area sushi restaurant, and does so for a lower price than most of them charge for just the sush entree. And of course the sush is good. Yama is a small restaurant that is frequently full so consider making a reservation.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is my trusty standby when in the need of a quick sushi fix. Yama is a reliable choice, with consistently good quality sushi. They use fresh fish, do not overload on rice, and have a decent variety to select from.
Their aged tofu appetizer is excellent and has a bit of a spicy flavor, unlike the more commonly found bland variety.

Service can be a bit haphazard.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Yama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yama Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.