We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Bonaroti

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ristorante Bonaroti
428 E Maple Ave, Wolf Trap, Vienna, VA 22180-4721
703 281 7550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Bonaroti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 122 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Street
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a phenomenal experience.

We didn't have a reservation and arrived around 6pm on a Saturday night. The hostess seemed a little huffy that we didn't have a reservation, but everything was perfect after we were seated (only took a few minutes to get a table). They set us back by the bar, and we had 2 waiters giving us bread, water, menus, and setting napkins on our laps within seconds. Just incredible.

I highly recommend you get whatever the waiter suggests, because we both got specials and didn't look back. I had the lobster ravioli, and my husband had a delicious chicken dish I can't remember.

The service, food, and ambiance can't be matched. I wished we lived closer because we would come all the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    32
    14
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Always Excellent...But the Rib Eye Steak is THE BEST EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We go to Bonaroti's fairly often and always have a wonderful experience. The service is top notch and the staff genuinely want you to feel "taken care of".

Almost always, I will have pasta because it's homemade and so delicious. This night, however, I really wanted a steak so I ordered the rib eye. Oh My Goodness! It was the best steak I've had in a long time, if not ever! And, it was huge. This rib eye was seasoned perfectly, almost fork tender and presented with perfectly sautéed mushrooms. I enjoyed every single bite and had plenty to bring home and share with the kids! I asked for the mushroom linguine as my side so that I could still have a bite of pasta. We always start off with zucchini blossoms which are stuffed with ricotta and fried and delicious. Dessert is always delicious but I'm usually so full that I can only have a bite...so consider sharing.

Here's a tip: Bonaroti's has an extensive menu and an equally long list of specials. Rely on your waiter to guide you if you are undecided. They will make almost anything you ask for if it's within your their power. The atmosphere is old fashioned elegance. You feel special and at home all at the same time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Bonaroti used to be a favorite of ours, but we hadn't been for a while, until last week when we took our teenage daughters for a celebration dinner. Things have fallen badly. The decor looks tired, and the kitchen is failing.

One daughter had a ravioli in a cream sauce which was outstanding. However, my osso buco special was disappointing -- it was somewhat chewy and meaty like a young steer rather than veal. My other daughter's veal saltimbocca had been frozen, and my wife's eggplant parmigiana was soggy and tasteless. While some discrete elements of the dinner were excellent, the serious failings of three of our four entrees were unacceptable. There are better options in the area nowadays.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Some dishes were good and a few failed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a friend reunion dinner here. Mussels were not fresh and fishes were thin, deep fried so dried and tasteless. Ravioli was super delicious and lamb chops were tender. The waiter was at tentative first and no water refills and it took forever for the bills to come. An average restaurant experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Loved this Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had checked the reviews on Trip Advisor before we went, and so was a little worried about the service. But I really don't know what those reviewers were talking about. From the moment my husband and I arrived, we were treated so warmly. We were greeted by Stefano who was delightful. We were seated right away and our waiter Claros (hope I got that right) was also wonderful. We loved the food and the service and we want to go back again, next time we stay in the area. The atmosphere was casual, fun and romantic. The food was so so good. I love going to Italy, and truly, some of the food reminded me of being there like the way they served the buffalo mozzarella for instance. The entrees were also excellent, I had a Filet Mignon in a wonderful red wine sauce and my husband had the Veal scalloppini, which he raved about. Gracie Mille to Ristorante Bonaroti.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Bonaroti also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ristorante Bonaroti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Bonaroti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.