We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dinner at Ristorante Bonaroti” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Bonaroti

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ristorante Bonaroti
428 E Maple Ave, Wolf Trap, Vienna, VA 22180-4721
703 281 7550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Bonaroti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 122 restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Street
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fine Dinner at Ristorante Bonaroti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were here with another couple for a Saturday evening dinner. We were seated immediately for our 7PM reservation. Very crowded but not so loud that you couldn't converse. Service was excellent and attentive. To start I had the "Chris Cooley's" Bresaola-Thin slices of cured beef rolled up w/ buffalo mozzarella & a touch of olive oil & lemon. It was great and my wife agreed. My main dish was a special, rockfish and very good. All seemed pleased with what they ordered including dessert. Not any more pricey than a fine restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    29
    13
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening, a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This places echos the Italian authenticity of an intimate watering hole in the old country. The lights and decor is intimate, Baroque almost. The immediate door area was a little bit of a cluster, between too many people in a small space, but thats no reason to take away from this place. I couldnt decide if the foyer hall being ceiling-to-floor pictures of people who've dined there was charming or trying too hard.

But onto the important factors: the food. The wait staff was Italian, and a little fast talking and brusque, but that was ok. They were always there, refilling, primping, checking on us. The food was tremendously delicious. The menu has something for everyone, especially the dessert menu! I wanted a house salad, but my husband was not sure, so they just split it for us without pushing us to buy another salad he may not eat, which was very nice. Even though we ordered two desserts to share, they still brought us some biscotti and a lowball of amaretto which was DIVINE and smooth, not at all potent or blatantly smelling of liquor. The owner, Sergio popped by a few times to make sure we were all set, and it was pleasant to see him walking around. I would say though that some of the menu looked a bit overpriced, but when you boast freshly made pasta and quality food, I guess infaltion in price should be a given. For two of us to have a bottle of wine, an appetizer, a salad, entrees, and two desserts it was $120. Not horrible, and we will definitely be back again for a nice evening out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Italy is so far. Lets go see Sergio at Bonaroti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I love this place. Sergio, the hands on owner is just wonderful. Smart and knowledge full. Great service and the food rocks. Go.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been going to Ristorante Bonorati for many years and we have never been disappointed. The owner, Sergio, is always present in the evening (when not back in La Spezia) and ensures that the dining room runs like clockwork. The atmosphere is more formal than most, but you are not at all stuffy. While there are many offerings you would expect in an Italian restaurant, there are also items more closely associated with Northern Italy. For a truely wonderful dining experience, we recommend Ristorante Bonorati in Vienna.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food great, but service was lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The service was very slow. We waited too long for our wine and filled up on bread before our appetizers arrived. BUT, once the food arrived it was fabulous. The restaurant was too busy and way too noisy. It was a Saturday night, and it felt like they needed either more staff or more room. I will go again, but not on a Saturday night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Bonaroti also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ristorante Bonaroti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Bonaroti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.