We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Growing pains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pazzo Pomodoro

Pazzo Pomodoro
118 Branch Rd. SE, Vienna, VA 22180
703-281-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Growing pains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Saturday night 700 arrival is a 45 min. Wait. Pasta is homemade and delicious stay away from specials the kitchen has mastered them. Mussels are great and calamari has a nice accompaniment if zucchini. Nice bar area and well priced wines. Bottom line a 6:30 or 8:00 arrival will be a better experience since there are no reservations .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really good Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here twice in the last week. On both occasions, the food was really authentic Italian - it was like being in Campania. The service and wine advice was wonderful. The staff is really friendly and knowledgeable. We will be going back at least once a week, including for what are likely to be great wine dinners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakton
1 review
“it beats cooking at home, otherwise....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Arriving we were greeted and seated quite promptly not very crowded however very loud as the tables are tight. After ordering a salad the waiter kindly asked if id like to share with my husband
I said that would be great if he felt it was enough for two. The "lettuce" arrived
on two plates fairly promptly with parmesan shavings on top and only half a cherry tomato on one.My husband only received a plate of greens. Hysterical...For nine dollars maybe a full cherry tomato on each??The ravioli was very good but there was more sauce than raviolis.The veal was very good . However, the "value" was just not there. The small portions you would expect at
a gourmet French restaurant. Not Italian. aside from that the wait staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Real (actually real) Italian cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

So I tend to review Italian restaurants against the Gold Standard -- my mother, who is a primo, from scratch cook. I've always said that if a restaurant can make gnocchi that stands up to hers, it was worth the trip. Pazzo Pomodoro delivered gnocchi delivered in a rustic earthenware bowl that actually nudges my mom's to 2nd place! Sorry mom! My friend let me have a sample. I hadI the agnolotti (small pillows of dough stuffed with spinach in a creamy mascarpone sauce. For dessert, my friend and I shared Baci de Sophia Loren, six little chocolate cups filled with zabaglione and topped with fresh raspberries. Each was like a little holiday celebration. We resisted scrapping up ALL the chocolate that decorated the plate but did manage to swirl those little cups around to get most of it! Décor here is warm and inviting with cloth red and white table covers, exposed brick, wine on display, and most intriguing a wall of black and white photos of people who may or may not be relatives of the owner but were certainly interesting to look at. Very good food and service. First time here. I will return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeasten Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We read where Pazzo Pomodoro was voted as the #1 New Restaurant by Washingtonian Magazine readers for 2013, so we decided to give it a try for lunch yesterday when we were in the area. Oh, my! This tiny gem is located in the Glyndon Avenue Shopping Center near the Fresh Market just off of Maple Avenue. I believe that good pasta is one of the staples of any good Italian restaurant. This place hit the mark. I enjoyed their gnocchi with a spicy, garlicy tomato/fresh mozzarella sauce. The gnocchi was served in a shallow pottery bowl which kept them nice and hot for the entire meal. My husband had one of their specialty pizzas: sausage with greens. It was prepared impeccably. I tasted a bite and it was truly out of this world. From what I have heard, the place is mobbed at night, so if you want to give this new Vienna restaurant a try, do so at lunchtime when the crowds are more manageable. My next trip I plan to have the risotto. My husband wants to give their pasta a try. Their salads are huge and very fresh. We shared one and there was still plenty leftover. Each meal is accompanied by delicious crusty Italian bread served with olive oil. Service was attentive and our meal was prepared in a timely fashion. Everything is cooked to order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzo Pomodoro also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Pazzo Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazzo Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.