We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria

Alegria
111 Church Street North, Vienna, VA 22180
(703) 261-6575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 125 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bazin's Next Door is the new Bazin concept restaurant that opened on Church Street in Vienna, VA on March 18, 2014. Located right next door to Bazin's on Church, Bazin's Next Door specializes in contemporary seasonal cuisine including pastas, Mexican varieties and American dishes.
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I ate here in August with my brothers and and sister-in-law. The restaurant is in an older building in old Vienna, the the W & OD trail. The parking isn't so good, especially on a Friday night. The restaurant itself was a bit warm - maybe the AC wasn't working properly? The food can best be described as "upscale Mexican". I had the mix and match tacos - pork confit, roasted portabello, and spicy shredded beef. They were all quite good. The homemade salsa was excellent, as are the margheritas. Reservations are a must, as the dining area is small. Would I eat here again - yes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come early or don't come at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

IF you come near [45 before] closing time - they will make you feel unwelcome - Typical "better than You" Vienna 'tude - the apps are the reason to go & go late, come too early and it's packed & VERY uncomfortable - regardless of what I say here, people will still come - What Vienna needs is some serious restaurant/bar competition

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Food is amazing... but don't go with a large party.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food and drinks are delish! You must try the Empanadas, they are amazing. The only issue is the restaurant is small, so it is hard to accomodate a large group of people. My friends and I had a reservation for 8 people and still ended up waiting an hour and 15 mins for a table.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I am so stuffed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went with 4 adults and 4 kids on a Wed night. Ordered 2 guacamole appetizers. Huge. The girls split the Summer Salad. Delicious. They split the nachos. Couldn't finish it. I dove in. Real meat. Excellent quality. I couldn't finish either. I had the Mahi Mahi special. Quite good. The former chef at our table thought the steak fajitas were the best she's tasted in quite some time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Duck carnitas to die for...but that's about it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The small dining room is comfy (although the open kitchen isn't much to look at), and we got off to a good start, with tasty margaritas, warm tortilla chips with two sauces, and good appetizers--especially the Sopes de Duck Carnitas (small masa shells with BBQ duck confit). Mix-and-matching the Taco Trio, I ordered one pork and two fish tacos that were billed as "crispy" but weren't--and the pork was dry. After an hour-long wait for entrees, the server explained that they "only had one cook" that night, but with about a dozen tables, they should be able to handle a full house! Alegria can mean happiness or joy, but we were a bit ambivalent. I'd go back for the duck appetizer and a salad, though, washed down with a margarita. Now that's happiness!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alegria also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.