We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale gourmet Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria

Alegria
111 Church Street North, Vienna, VA 22180
(703) 261-6575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 125 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bazin's Next Door is the new Bazin concept restaurant that opened on Church Street in Vienna, VA on March 18, 2014. Located right next door to Bazin's on Church, Bazin's Next Door specializes in contemporary seasonal cuisine including pastas, Mexican varieties and American dishes.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Upscale gourmet Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Elevated Mexican cuisine - a welcome addition to Vienna providing diners with a much appreciated departure from the typical Mex fare.

Margaritas were well balanced and exotic fruit juice bases were wonderful - blood orange was quite nice.

Guacamole was fresh and tasty.

Tacos were yummy. Stick with beef and portobello options - clear winners at our table. Shrimp and fish were not as good.

Black beans and rice were smoky and delicious comforting.

Would go back to check out other options in both food and drink.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This new addition to Vienna is a cozy restaurant owned by the same folks who run Bazin's next door. This means the food is good, alot of thought is given to presentation and decor, and that its a little pricey. Many reviews says its very loud, but my wife and I dined there on a recent Sat night and its wasn't compeletely full or too noisy. The tables are very close together and we could overhear conversations on both sides of us. Loved the duck quesedilla. Liked the beef fajitas. The service is a bit aggressive pushing multiple small plats and their "amazing" but expensive margartitas.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Out of the ordinary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

So far, we've only had drinks at Alegria, but the bartender absolutely loves coming up with the unusual. Tell him what you like, and he'll make you a drink that's even better. We hear the food is "to die for", and can't wait to give it a try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found this place accidentally as we were on our way to Church Street Pizza. The smell wafting into the street was so good that we came back the next weekend to give it a try. It was a busy Friday night, but we were seated immediately and our server was prompt and friendly. The noise level is a little high and then tables are fairly close together, but nothing that stands out as uncomfortable or unpleasant. The starter salsas they give you are AMAZING- a basic red salsa and wonderful green tomatillo. Perhaps a little cheap that they only give you one basket of chips for free, but since the salsas were SO good and they give you two, I can see how people might gorge themselves on free food and end up not ordering a lot. Shrimp and veggie tacos were excellent and my husband enjoyed his chicken burrito. There is also a pretty decent selection/variety for vegetarians. All in all, a terrific meal and we will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I'd like to come here at least once a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Chips and Salsa amazing - Guac amazing, short Rib enchilada to die for, qeuso fundido con chorizo - ummmmm - I love this place. Add the delicious margheritas by GREAT bartender and you have the perfect easy night out. The menu is simple and delicious!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alegria also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.