We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alegria
111 Church Street North, Vienna, VA
(703) 261-6575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 123 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Out of the ordinary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

So far, we've only had drinks at Alegria, but the bartender absolutely loves coming up with the unusual. Tell him what you like, and he'll make you a drink that's even better. We hear the food is "to die for", and can't wait to give it a try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    10
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found this place accidentally as we were on our way to Church Street Pizza. The smell wafting into the street was so good that we came back the next weekend to give it a try. It was a busy Friday night, but we were seated immediately and our server was prompt and friendly. The noise level is a little high and then tables are fairly close together, but nothing that stands out as uncomfortable or unpleasant. The starter salsas they give you are AMAZING- a basic red salsa and wonderful green tomatillo. Perhaps a little cheap that they only give you one basket of chips for free, but since the salsas were SO good and they give you two, I can see how people might gorge themselves on free food and end up not ordering a lot. Shrimp and veggie tacos were excellent and my husband enjoyed his chicken burrito. There is also a pretty decent selection/variety for vegetarians. All in all, a terrific meal and we will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'd like to come here at least once a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Chips and Salsa amazing - Guac amazing, short Rib enchilada to die for, qeuso fundido con chorizo - ummmmm - I love this place. Add the delicious margheritas by GREAT bartender and you have the perfect easy night out. The menu is simple and delicious!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really, really, good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Ok ... after one visit I now think this is my favorite "mexican" place within our normal driving range for dinner away from home! We read a review that helped our mind set regarding what to expect, and Alegria met or exceeded the expectations. I labeled this "mexican" because most of menus is based on typical mexican/tex-mex items, spices, and flavors,. The key differences is that this is almost a Spanish tapas style presentation - small plates, shareable - but better than just a sampling. A typical dinner for two might include 4-5 plates shared. The happy hour specials were three tacos for $9 which gave us a quick sample of this menu item. The guacamole was wonderfu - enough for 4 to share. Each of our dishes was wonderful. Small knock on service since we were seated in a area that seemed to be a gap between servers, but after a 10 minute wait a server spotted us and delivered excellent service (and food). Perhaps the place is a bit loud, and while the food was excellent, I rate the prices high.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fresh and Authentic Casual Mexican Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you are looking for a great Mexican restaurant where the food is fresh and delicious, you have found it! My wife and I joined another couple for an impromptu visit on a Friday evening and we were delighted. They don't take reservations and were told when we arrived, a table for 4 would be 40 minutes wait but that turned into 13 minutes. While hanging out for our table, we saw quite a few "regular" clientele at the bar and we snapped up a few drinks that required little wait time. The menu is a great mix of traditional and fusion styled dishes that are tapas style small plate servings. The Mahi Mahi was some of the best we have had and the Guacamole was excellent! The drink menu is also extensive and if you go to Alegria, I believe you won't be disappointed! Check them out on the web: http://www.alegriaonchurch.com/

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alegria also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.