We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Crust and Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pure Pasty Co.

The Pure Pasty Co.
128C Church St NW, Vienna, VA 22180
7032557147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 123 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Australian, British
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect Crust and Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This may not be for everyone but if you are a fan of pot pies and the like you will love the Pasties here. My husband and his family are from Michigan and their reviews are more mixed. This seems to be a reflection of traditionalists versus non when it comes to the ingredients. Pure Pasty does not use rutabaga in the traditional which makes it less authentic for some. For me however, I don't like the taste of rutabaga so it is very delightful!

Pure Pasty has some delicious and unique Pasties in addition to the traditional. My husband especially enjoyed one with lamb. They used to make a steak & cheese Pasty which was my favorite. The crust is fabulous and really makes the whole meal. My husband stops by on his way home from work and buys 5 or 6 at a time. They freeze well and are easy to reheat although I'd suggest taking the extra time and heating them in the oven for the best texture and flavor. Price is reasonable when you consider it is an entire meal all packaged together except for perhaps a vegetable of some kind. Definitely try them!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never had a Pasty before but they are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! Will definitely be back! We are having a party next Sunday and will cater with Pure Pasty!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pure delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Individual meat pies available in a variety of types, from traditional to curry, makes grabbing a quick bite in Vienna an adventure. This small shop has limited seating, but if you can nab a place at the counter, you can watch the pasty-making in action. The two-fisted size pasties are plenty filling and are enjoyable with or without condiments. But add a touch of English mustard - delightful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's a meat filled bread, what's not to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I mean, if I have to tell you about a pasty you clearly haven't been. There is nothing not to like. Perfect spice, perfect bake. I mean, just go.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty pasty! Best since London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We're in Washington DC for the weekend and carried out pasties for dinner tonight. We got a wide selection and I tried a little of each kind. My fave was the vegetarian, but I also loved the traditional, the cordon bleu, and the chicken Provençal. We also got some apple turnovers. Everything was delicious, customer service was great, and I'll be here every time we visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pure Pasty Co. also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Pure Pasty Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pure Pasty Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.