We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty pasty! Best since London!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pure Pasty Co.

The Pure Pasty Co.
128C Church St NW, Vienna, VA 22180
7032557147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 131 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Australian, British
Restaurant details
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty pasty! Best since London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We're in Washington DC for the weekend and carried out pasties for dinner tonight. We got a wide selection and I tried a little of each kind. My fave was the vegetarian, but I also loved the traditional, the cordon bleu, and the chicken Provençal. We also got some apple turnovers. Everything was delicious, customer service was great, and I'll be here every time we visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ox Tail Soup is their best soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We tried the ox tail soup as part of the special. I have to say this is the best soup I have had from Pure Pasty. I also liked their beef wellington.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An authentic taste of Kernow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

To any and all who have been wishing for a genuine Cornish pasty but sadly unable to hop a plane home for the holidays, check out the PPC! Their pasties are short crust (I do prefer flaky, but the shortcrust here is actually better than the shortcrust I have had in the UK, not at all heavy or dry) and come in a variety of flavors. I would go for the original if you only plan to try one, but one will not be enough...the shop is on an alleyway, making it hard to find if you are not local and there is not much seating inside, so don't plan to bring a group and eat in. But do go. We will be making special trips when we can - wish it wasn't so far, but it is much closer than Cornwall!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cornish style turnover/empanada transplant in Vienna alleyway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a small shop that faithfully replicates a Cornish staple in Vienna. In addition to the traditional pasty, filled with meat and veggies, a rotating selection of specials greets the gourmand. I particularly like the pork barbecue pasty, or the Moroccan lamb. A display rack full of Brit condiments rounds out the offerings. All the pasties are made on site in the kitchen open to full view of patrons. While a few stools are available, this is primarily a take-out shop. Vienna dining choices are so much the better with the arrival of Pure Pasty.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The pasties are fresh and delicious. You can watch them making the pasties while you eat. This place is quick, clean, reasonably priced and never fails to deliver on taste. So far I've tried 3 different pasties and loved them all. I certainly plan to go through their entire menu! My new favorite joint in Vienna.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pure Pasty Co. also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Pure Pasty Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pure Pasty Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.