We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ox Tail Soup is their best soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pure Pasty Co.

The Pure Pasty Co.
128C Church St NW, Vienna, VA 22180
+1 703-255-7147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: African, British, Australian, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: What words can we use to describe ourselves! Totally, unique, authentic, British Meat Pie & Pasty Bakery. All made on site in an open kitchen. Small Batch High Quality Items made from Free Range, Organic, Hormone and Antibiotic Free ingredients. PLUS Fantastic British Grocery Store! Bangers Bacon, Cadbury, McVities, Branston and much much more. AND South African and Australian goodies too. Vegemite, Biltong, Boerwors!!!! Small seating area. Lots of food to go though. Office Lunch Deliveries - ring the shop. Parties catered with our famous mini pasties!
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ox Tail Soup is their best soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We tried the ox tail soup as part of the special. I have to say this is the best soup I have had from Pure Pasty. I also liked their beef wellington.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An authentic taste of Kernow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

To any and all who have been wishing for a genuine Cornish pasty but sadly unable to hop a plane home for the holidays, check out the PPC! Their pasties are short crust (I do prefer flaky, but the shortcrust here is actually better than the shortcrust I have had in the UK, not at all heavy or dry) and come in a variety of flavors. I would go for the original if you only plan to try one, but one will not be enough...the shop is on an alleyway, making it hard to find if you are not local and there is not much seating inside, so don't plan to bring a group and eat in. But do go. We will be making special trips when we can - wish it wasn't so far, but it is much closer than Cornwall!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cornish style turnover/empanada transplant in Vienna alleyway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a small shop that faithfully replicates a Cornish staple in Vienna. In addition to the traditional pasty, filled with meat and veggies, a rotating selection of specials greets the gourmand. I particularly like the pork barbecue pasty, or the Moroccan lamb. A display rack full of Brit condiments rounds out the offerings. All the pasties are made on site in the kitchen open to full view of patrons. While a few stools are available, this is primarily a take-out shop. Vienna dining choices are so much the better with the arrival of Pure Pasty.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The pasties are fresh and delicious. You can watch them making the pasties while you eat. This place is quick, clean, reasonably priced and never fails to deliver on taste. So far I've tried 3 different pasties and loved them all. I certainly plan to go through their entire menu! My new favorite joint in Vienna.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level Contributor
474 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Excellent British food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

In spite of this being characterized as Australian food, it is clearly a British Restaurant with the Union Jack outside and Cadburys for sale inside. There isn't a lot of seating and it is on an alley between Maple and Church street but my parents recommended it and it was a great choice. It was excellent food, we took it back home.

We got four different pastys and bought them home. They were all good, we also had the sausage roll which was very good. The sizes were a good value and service great. Five stars for the food. It is a step up above fast food but a giant leap compared to its competitors. I wouldn't bring anyone here to eat, this is only about the food and not the atmosphere. We would try it again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pure Pasty Co. also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Pure Pasty Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pure Pasty Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.