We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent British food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pure Pasty Co.

The Pure Pasty Co.
128C Church St NW, Vienna, VA 22180
7032557147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Australian, British
Restaurant details
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Excellent British food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

In spite of this being characterized as Australian food, it is clearly a British Restaurant with the Union Jack outside and Cadburys for sale inside. There isn't a lot of seating and it is on an alley between Maple and Church street but my parents recommended it and it was a great choice. It was excellent food, we took it back home.

We got four different pastys and bought them home. They were all good, we also had the sausage roll which was very good. The sizes were a good value and service great. Five stars for the food. It is a step up above fast food but a giant leap compared to its competitors. I wouldn't bring anyone here to eat, this is only about the food and not the atmosphere. We would try it again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Very Good Pasties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I purchased a Specialicious deal that was $10 for $20 to be used as Pure Pasty. My husband is from Marquette, MI and we know good pasties. For our deal, I purchased two sausage rolls and two traditional pasties. The sausage rolls were good, with crisp flaky pastry. I would have liked the sausage to have more flavor. The pasties were very good. Sometimes, I make pasties myself, and sometimes we order them from Michigan. Now we don't have to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
702 helpful votes 702 helpful votes
“very tasty - cannot wait to return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent food - I had the lamb pasty and my husband had the traditional and the chicken provencal. The lamb was lean and flavorful, and I loved the chickpeas, raisins, and cherries mixed in with the filling. I'd highly recommend the mint sauce with this pasty. The crust is buttery and flaky - amazing.
I tried the traditional pasty my husband was eating and liked it as well - delicious beef, potatoes, and carrots (though less spiced than the lamb one). I didn't try the chicken provencal, but my husband really enjoyed it as well. A very successful little lunch - 3 pasties and 2 drinks came to around $25. And I love supporting family-run businesses! Plus it's great to know that their lamb and beef are grass-fed and all-natural.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fresh Lunch Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

You really have to make the effort to find this place given its location in an alley between Church St and Maple Ave. Once you do though, you won't be disappointed. I wasn't too hungry, so I just picked up a sausage roll and a coke. With tax, I paid just $5.10, which is a bargain for lunch in northern Virginia. The pastry was divine, although the sausage was a tad spicier than I anticipated. They have a varied menu and it looked like they were having a run on the cheese steak pasty that day. About a third of the place is taken up by the kitchen where you can watch them make the pastry and fillings from scratch. There are only five seats in the entire place, so they expect that just like in the old days, you'll walk away and eat your pasty elsewhere.
I liked the place so much that I plan on taking my daughter (semester abroad in London) to see what she thinks...and to try another variety of pasty myself. What a great unique addition to the lunch fare in Vienna.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I love the pasties from this great place as a change of pace. Everything is fresh and tasty with something for everyone.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pure Pasty Co. also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Pure Pasty Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pure Pasty Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.