We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MapleWood Grill

MapleWood Grill
132 Branch Rd SE, Vienna, VA 22180-4714
703-281-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MapleWood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 123 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Maple Ave
Transit: The Vienna metro is a 5 minute cab ride to the restaurant.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to the Grill last night with some out-of-town visitors who have traveled all over the world. They raved about Maplewood, and vowed to return on their next visit to town. Two of us had the rockfish and they said it was wonderful. i ordered the short ribs---excellent. The service was top-notch. Very friendly folks, right down the the fella who watched to make sure we always had their delicious bread. I would have given it 5 stars except the white wine we ordered had not been chilled. Our server said that they had run out of the chilled bottles and apologized profusely. I had heard about Maplewood from some friends. So glad we found it. We will return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stopped in before a show at Wolf Trap. Tucked in a corner of a plaza it looks like it could be dated and dark. Instead there is contemporary lighting and art and the food was presented to match. Our service was excellent provided by Ryan W - very attentive and quick with a recommendation. The wine list is affordable and has a nice selection if not large. The flat iron steak was really well done and the risotto served with the short ribs was great. Prices were fair and we were very pleased with the dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This restaurant thinks it's higher class than it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I went to Maplewood Grill to have a nice dinner before going out of town and because she is diabetic she asked if she could substitute a vegetable for the French fries that came with her crab cake. She was told that it would be an additional $2 to do so we decided to leave. Believe me, this place is hardly a high class eating establishment and to lose customers over a couple asparagus spears or carrots is just plain bad business. The menu at this restaurant is tired, the entrees and other items never change and the entrees are expensive for what they are and what one gets on the plates. There are plenty of other places to dine in the area so skip this location and be treated right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. We still love the appetizer of salmon quesadillas; there are four, so my husband and I split it. My drink, the Vienna martini, was just okay, not as good as my husband's pomegranate martini. My husband's mahi mahi was very good; he liked it. My scallop dish, that I previously felt were the best scallops anywhere, has changed since a couple of months ago. It used to be my favorite, my reason for coming to this restaurant. It's still good but not as good as it was. My glass of red wine, Lucky Star, was not as good as before. The dessert, the chocolate candy bar dessert, was still very good. We'll try here again, but I was disappointed because it wasn't as good as several times previously. Our waitress was pleasant and efficient. A piano player entertains in the background with people sitting around the piano singing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant used to be the Le Canard, a French-style place. It had a reputation for good food, and recently changed to have a wider-variety of cuisine. Now, with a different, more-Continental flavor, its quality is still quite good. We have had both lunches and dinners there, and the food is quite good and the prices reasonable. It's a bit dark and subdued, but fairly quiet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MapleWood Grill also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to MapleWood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MapleWood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.