We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MapleWood Grill

MapleWood Grill
132 Branch Rd SE, Vienna, VA 22180-4714
703-281-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MapleWood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 135 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Maple Ave
Transit: The Vienna metro is a 5 minute cab ride to the restaurant.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Maplewood Grill. The atmosphere was very nice and the menu was full of attractive options. Pricing was reasonable. I had the Mahi-Mahi special and it was quite good. My wife wasn't as taken with the pork chop which was huge, though a little too sweet for her tastes (sauce). Another diner had the big shrimp pasta and raved about it. The lobster bisque was a little thin and though it tasted like lobster, none was evident. The dessert menu will have to wait for another time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    35
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a piano bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good food with a menu that everyone can find something good to eat. Late comers wil be able to enjoy the piano bar that starts about 9:00pm.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place might be a little dated in terms of decor for some tastes but they almost always have live music! They also serve great food and one can almost always get a table without a reservation. Friendly staff. Local musicians.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A favorite of loyal middle aged residents”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've eaten there only three times, over a year ago. The first time I ate there, the meatloaf was outstanding. The second time, I had to send the meatloaf back because it was too salty…much too salty. I can't really recall the third time. My dinner companion had a mixed seafood plate which was quite good. This appears to be the kind of place that middle-aged to older locals frequent, especially folks who prefer traditional American cooking--which doesn't include us. There is plenty of parking in front. Reservations recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Never guess from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great little restaurant! A bit cramped but not out of line with most these days. The piano is a nice touch. The food was very good, delivered to the table hot and timely. The menu is great with a range of seafood and meat dishes, but the specials every night mean it is not a place you will tire of. The wine list is very ordinary but the do have a reasonable corkage fee of $20. Good place for a couple or friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MapleWood Grill also viewed

 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to MapleWood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MapleWood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.