We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never guess from the outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MapleWood Grill

MapleWood Grill
132 Branch Rd SE, Vienna, VA 22180-4714
703-281-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MapleWood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 121 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Maple Ave
Transit: The Vienna metro is a 5 minute cab ride to the restaurant.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Never guess from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great little restaurant! A bit cramped but not out of line with most these days. The piano is a nice touch. The food was very good, delivered to the table hot and timely. The menu is great with a range of seafood and meat dishes, but the specials every night mean it is not a place you will tire of. The wine list is very ordinary but the do have a reasonable corkage fee of $20. Good place for a couple or friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A very nice neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Maplewood Grill is a very nice place to go for an upscale meal without all the pretensiousness of some other restaurants. The steaks are excellent and the wiener schnitzel is the best! There is a piano bar with entertainment and a good selection of beers and wine. Service is well above average.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C,
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food/piano bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My mom and I had dinner one evening and were pleasantly surprised by excellent food and fun entertainment. Enjoyed one of their flatbreads as an appetizer and scallops as an entree. They are very accomodating, no fuss over sharing the entree, and the staff are so pleasant. Once the pianist started playing, my mom moved to one of the stools around the piano where I joined her and we sang many memorable tunes late into the evening. Everyone having a lovely night out, I'd recommend it highly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great, Friendly Atmosphere; Food Was Mostly Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I went there last week for a girls' night out. The atmsophere was perfect. We had a round table that was a perfect size for us to have ample room to eat but was small enough to hear each other! Everyone who worked here was very friendly, and we enjoyed the background music from the pianist (though we never actually saw him). The drinks were very good, and most of the food was too. The crab poppers were as good as everyone said they are! I ordered a lobster roll and it was very good (though as a native New Englander, I must admit the ones from Maine are definitely better!). The cole slaw was fine too. The only thing that was a huge disappointment was the potato salad. I don't think I've ever tasted a worse potato salad in my life! It was watery with a vinegary taste! For dessert, I got the candy bar dessert and that was great. So, overall, 4 out of 5 ain't bad! It was definitely an expensive night (my bill came to almost $80 with tip). But we all had a great time, and I really look forward to going back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot to Wine and Dine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stopped in at this restaurant before we went to a show at the Wolf Trap, which is right down the road from this place. We only stopped in for a few drinks and appetizers but we had a really good experience. The decor and layout of this restaurant gave a very intimate and pleasant atmosphere. We received excellent service from the bartenders and they were very friendly. We had flat bread, which was delicious, and we got the appetizer "Shrimp and Crab Poppers". If you go to this place you have to get this item. It was amazing! Next time we go down to Wolf Trap for a show we will defiantly stop back at this place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MapleWood Grill also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to MapleWood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MapleWood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.