We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local garden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlark Botanical Garden

Meadowlark Botanical Garden
9750 Meadowlark Gardens Court, Vienna, VA 22182
703-255-3631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Vienna
Type: Gardens, Parks
Attraction Details
Great Falls, VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Local garden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a lovely but small botanical garden, not intended for large tourist groups. Granted it has some acreage, but it's virtue lies in its intimacy. Quiet (depending when you go) and lovely. A serene place to commune with Nature's loveliness.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stroll with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its our go-to place for long walks. Our 2.5 year old especially enjoys the touch-and-smell garden and the lake with various types of fish and turtles. The elevation change is also enough to burn some calories but yet stay accessible to all age groups and stay stroller/wheel-chair friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, New Jersey
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Meadowlarks Walks Bright Lights Dim for This Holiday Season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Vienna, Virginia has a diamond in the rough that lights up at night from November 16th to January 6th - the "Meadowlarks Winter Walks of Lights" at the Meadowlark Botanical Garden. At dusk the entire botanical gardens turns into a winter wonderland with bright pathways to Christmas trees, light shows, holiday music, and a dream world that enchants children, as well as adults. My personal favorite was the Butterfly Garden. This was truly a treat, one that if you missed this year will not be back until the next holiday season. If you missed it in 2012 be sure to catch the show when it opens again in 2013. Additional photographs of this years' displays can be found on my travel blog - jdrolle.blogspot.com.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Winter walk with lights was fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This park had so many lights and the paths were well marked. The walk was a reasonable length and there was hot chocolate and s'mores for purchase outside. Inside a craft area for children had been set up. As tourists we had a lovely time. As a family it contributed to the Christmas feeling.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Walk of Lights was Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to the walk of lights at the botanical gardens for a team event and really enjoyed it. I had heard that it can be very crowded but it was pouring rain the evening we went so was nearly empty. The rain didn't stop us and we really enjoyed the effort that must have been put into the display. My favorite section was the "stream" running through the entire attraction that included jumping fish. Certainly worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meadowlark Botanical Garden also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Meadowlark Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlark Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.