We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and small, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Ave Restaurant

Maple Ave Restaurant
147 Maple Avenue West, Vienna, VA 22810
703.319.2177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Pottsville, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“charming and small, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Small seating area and parking area. The food is fabulous. Had the scallops with risoto and basil ice cream...delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful local find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Found this through suggestions by friends. Wonderful cooking and friendly, professional service - the mussels and the shrimp & grits were the best small plates our group tried, and the seared scallops was the winning main course. The outside looks like an old dry-cleaning shop. With only 20 or so seats reservations are a must. The 3-course fixed price menu and 1/2 priced bottles of wine on Mondays will keep us coming back often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Creative, tasty food, terrible ambiance.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This strikes me as the kind of place where the chef is very talented and creative, but is cooking for him/herself and isn't thinking about the diners' dining experience. There are no appetizers, only sharing-plate sizes (which are too much for one person) and really spoil your palate for the main course. We couldn't finish our mussels or okra, although both were delicious and interesting. We had duck and chicken for our entrees, both were very good, our Japanese frozen dessert dessert was more creative and beautiful than tasty. The decor was non-existent, there was a weird, non-food odor in the air, the bathroom was dingy and dirty with a cement floor, so no romance here. I recommend you try it yourself if you are a foodie, because there are some great things about the menu, but the high prices indicate "fine dining" and the environment and thoughtfulness from the eater's standpoint is at a MUCH lower level.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hole In The Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Asian/French Fusion.. taste great and very filling. If you are looking for a low calorie meal, then this is not your place. Very small restaurant so reservation is needed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small Plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Friendy staff and good service. I especially enjoyed the shrimp and grits.
.Since this restaurant is small reversation are definately adviseable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Ave Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Maple Ave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Ave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.