We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic and different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Ave Restaurant

Maple Ave Restaurant
147 Maple Avenue West, Vienna, VA 22810
17033192177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maple Ave Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 153 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Globally influenced American cuisine in the heart of Vienna, VA.
Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Artistic and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very exciting and high quality dishes in a very small space. Each dish is local and is the creation of the chef – not just another restaurant with the same dishes as everyone else. Very fresh and creative. A bit cramped and sparse in the dining area. Our lunch came to over $60, so this is not an inexpensive lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mc Lean
Level Contributor
181 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tiny Restaurant with Adventurous Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Since my first visit to this restaurant last summer, I've tried to get a reservation on the fly and have been unsuccessful, much to my sorrow. However, there is now a remedy - Maple Ave has opened up a 'bistro' of sorts in the back of the restaurant - same menu, but no reservations - first come, first served. And you thought the front of the restaurant was bare bones! But we don't go there for the atmosphere - its the interesting and always delicious menu that draws the crowds. We had mussels that were plump, juicy and delicious, mac and cheese that tasted like mother used to make and the most beautiful beet salad - a delight to the eyes and palate. We shared a bread pudding dessert and french press coffee. This meal was a winner from beginning to end. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiva36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Five Star Food - In Sparse Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I dined the Friday after the New Year. The excellent food preparation and creative menu (although limited) excited and danced on our palates. My husband ordered a dish of beef prepared much like an Osso Bucco. I enjoyed the scallops on risotto. We shared a dessert that seemed to be a type of sherbert that was delightful and creative. If having dinner it is better to sit on the left side of the restaurant as the lights glaring in the window from Magruder's grocery store can be blinding on the right side. I would recommend that the owners consider some type of creative covering that would greatly soften the atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good, but not as great as I thought it would be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had high expectations for this restaurant mostly because of the reviews I read here and because its on multiple "best restaurant" lists in the NoVA/DC area.

The service is great and the dishes are imaginative and are presented well. The atmosphere of the restaurant itself is very bare bones--nothing fancy here. I took my mother here for her birthday and her first reaction was "that looks like a hole in the wall." I'm not huge on ambiance, but if you're looking for a place with atmosphere this is not it.

I've eaten here twice and have tried three separate main dishes (beef cheek, Moroccan chicken, and a chicken and wasabi sandwich off the brunch menu) . The chef really likes herbs to the point where I'd say the dishes were over-herbed. All three tasted like they had been dunked in fennel. Also the meat wasn't that great--very fatty. On the flip side their chocolate dumplings are literally to die for. I could eat those every day until I die.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isaleistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Creative and wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The menu is always eclectic and delicious. I have always enjoyed the unique meals and combinations of flavors. Theonly thing lacking here is atmosphere. For the price of the food - $15 - $20 lunch entrees - $25 - $40 dinner entrees you would expect a much nicer atmosphere but this is a old run down shack, Again the food is awesome so if you don't mind this it is fine but I think they would do so much better in a larger more upscale location.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thewsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Ave Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Maple Ave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing