We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and innovative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Ave Restaurant

Maple Ave Restaurant
147 Maple Avenue West, Vienna, VA 22810
703.319.2177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 122 restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegant and innovative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Tiny hole in the wall and tables very close together. Service and food are top notch. Steamed mussels, beef cheeks sandwich are outstanding. Good home made desserts. Best for couples, families width older kids, teens.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    43
    30
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small, but wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Maple Avenue is truly not only a neighborhood gem, but a fantastic place for any occasion. Whether lunch or dinner, the menu's choices are just right. You choose between small plates (perfect sizes for 2 people, or 3 to get a few bites.) The mac and cheese is phenomenal; as is the shrimp and risotto. The lemongrass chicken is great and is adorned with fried brussel sprout leaves which are a fun and good-tasting treat. The scallop's ice-cream in the center of the plate is wild! A must have. With prices of about 8$ - $28, you can stuff yourself and not spend tons of $$$. The wine list, though small, is very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good things come in small packages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We read about Maple Ave on Tripadvisor. The building looks something out of Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. When you pull into the little parking lot, you see the luxury cars that you would expect at the Four Seasons. They do not have many tables in the house, but they have a geat porch out back. The server, Jeremy, was friendly, and very attentive. His recommendations were spot on, and he did his best to meet every request, even the far out requests of a pregnant woman. The food was out of sight. Even my picky 9 year old cleaned his plate. We loved the innovative entrees. Who would have thought of basil ice cream with pan seared diver sea scallops? I had to break my diet and eat my son's leftover mac n cheese with a hint of rosemary. To top it all off, the chef came out to speak to us, and he was personable and humble. We will return, and recommend this little treasure chest to all.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, Need a reservation though!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Loved the food here. Went here for lunch one day and I didn't know what to expect. The place is super small, like 10-13 tables. You need a reservation, but it's totally worth it. I had the Mediterranean chicken and it was amazing. The sauce was to die for, and the chicken was roasted perfectly. The entire menu looked so good. It was all gourmet, nothing that you'd think you'd ever order for lunch, but trust me it's worth it. The dessert menu was another story. They had mini funnel cakes along with so many other things. We had the funnel cakes and they were just like you'd get at the county fair. I definitely recommend this place!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fish Bowl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Large picture windows on three sides of the dining room with a total of nine tables overlooking Maple Ave sidewalk, a car wash and Merchants Tiers. When the tables get occupied, the noise level is objectionable high. Prompt, courteous pleasant service. Tour-de-force of culinary excellence; order the bronzini or seared scallops but not the Moroccan chicken. Not a good value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Ave Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County

Been to Maple Ave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Ave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.