We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Yoshi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Yoshi
101 Church St NW, Vienna, VA 22180-4554
703-242-1350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 122 restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was my first visit to the restaurant and won't be my last. We had the sushi combo platter for two which was filling, and the sushi was fresh and very good. The restaurant does not accommodate a lot of people, so I would recommend reservations whether for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    17
    17
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Go for their signature Chirashi.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have been here many times for lunch . The Chirashi Sushi is always excellent and a pretty good deal for the amount of fish you get.

Decided to go for dinner with my family . We thought the sushi was good (fish was very fresh) but the rice balls were too big (one distinction between good sushi and great sushi ). Also, our food took waaaaaaay too long to arrive- we waited a good twenty minutes after finishing our appetizers. My Chirashi was delicious but came out another 10 minutes after our a la carte sushi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The small restaurant is packed with Asian folks, good sign we said and we were right. We sat at the bar, saw how two non-Asian cooks prepare the food and had a very good meal. The tempura was not soggy, the sushi fresh, the service was good. I recommend yo make a reservation though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegant and Excellent go hand and hand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This little Japanese restaurant is run by a Japanese couple who put together dishes so yummy. Before I went there I was debating which Chirash dish I should choose from Regular, Shanshoku, and Young's Chirash. Oh boy, I was glad that I got a regular dish. It was more than big enough for two ladies. :-) But I was able to successfully accomplish the mission of enjoying lovely pieces. a beautiful presentation too. However, I am going to try Young-San's chirashi more variety next time.

Simple pleasures comes from a nice meal like this here at at Sushi Yoshi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Try the Young-San Special Chirashi for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you want to move up a notch in sushi eating, try Chirashi first and if you already had it and want to have something special try Young-san special Chirashi for lunch. If you are still at the maki roll and California roll, don't even bother since this plate is not cheap even by lunch standard. However, if you like Uni(sea urchin), Salmon Roe, Squid and of course lots of different raw fish, then you are in for a treat. This was concocted here so you won't find this anywhere else. Also, you need to have a big appetite. I haven't been to this place for sometime but I returned recently and it was well worth the price but I couldn't eat all what was on the plate but not because I didn't like what were on the plates but it was too much for me. It comes in two plates. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Yoshi also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sushi Yoshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Yoshi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.