We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Mango Sushi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Yoshi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Yoshi
101 Church St NW, Vienna, VA 22180-4554
703-242-1350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 122 restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Splendid Mango Sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I'm usually a big fan of Yama, but in an effort to try the rest of what Vienna has to offer we tried Sushi Yoshi. For starters, if you come here during busy hours or have more people in your group MAKE RESERVATIONS. It's a very small space, and even getting around can be a bit of a squeeze. The waitresses (probably in an effort to get people out faster) were a little TOO attentive, but the food was very good. A tad more expensive than other places in the neighborhood but the sushi a la carte menu was stocked full of creative (and delicious!) rolls. The fried Tim Tim roll was what I classify as "guilty pleasure" sushi but was fantastic and the rolls incorporating mango were surprisingly light and tasty. The rolls could have been constructed a bit better, but it's not how it gets there as much as how it tastes when it does, right?

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    17
    17
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Va
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing -- Very Inconsistent -- Some Good -- Some Very Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We are loyal fans of Yama Sushi about 3/4 of a mile away from this place, but wanted to give Yoshi a try because of all the good reviews. The menu held out great promise with a large number of Japanese small plate dishes that are unique. We started with one of the small plates, the braised pork cheek. As expected, the pork cheek consisted of a large piece of fat (much like a pork belly) with some meat attached. The meat was tender and flavorful, but the sauce was disgustingly sweet...like Terryaki on steroids. At $6.95, it was a good value, however. We also had an order of the shumai. These are clearly frozen shumai that Yoshi steams. They were soggy and very average...much like the ones you get from the Korean market frozen in the bag. At $5.95 for five shumai, this dish was overpriced and annoying -- many pepple share this type of appetizer as we did, so not serving an even number of shumai in the order seems shortsighted. We then shared a broad variety of nigri sushi. Unlike many local places, Yoshi prices their sushi by the piece instead of by the order of two pieces. This is actually not a bad idea as it allows for added flexiibility. There were several items of which we ordered three pieces instead of four because one of us only wanted to sample certain items. The sushi was very mixed in quality and freshness. The tuna, the mainstay of any sushi restaurant, was quite good, as was the white tuna (Escolar). The uni (sea urchin) was much less fresh. Uni is very delicate and spoils quickly. While not spoiled, the uni here did have a fair amount of brownish color and harsh, fishy taste. I eat a lot of uni and this was a definite C-. We also ordered several rolls. The spicy tuna roll was awful...it had a strange taste and I suspect they use tuna scraps rather than the nice fresh tuna we got in the regular tuna sushi. One other special roll had "tempura crunch" as one of the ingredients. Obviously, the batch of tempura crumbs from which they got the ones for our roll had been fried up several days in advance and allowed to sit and get stale...they tatsed liked semi-rancid grease (the flavor you get when it sits out too long). We are usually sushi eating machines who leave overstuffed. We left the majority of the two rolls behind...something we would never do unless they were as truly indedible as these. The one other sushi item worth noting was the salmon skin handroll...it was freshly cooked, crispy and delicious. The final comment I will make on the menu is that they charge $1.75 for a soda...and charge for each refill at full price. This is highly uncommon outside of New York City, in my experience. Chain restaurants have pretty much made the free refills standard everywhere (although I admit that $1.75 would be a low price for free refills...but to pay $1.75 a refill is ridiculous). The service was adequate, though not overly attentive. In short, with prices higher than at Yama...with highly inconsistent food quality...and with bare minimum service, I can't recommend a visit here. I suspect that if the loyalists who fill the review sites with positive reviews of this place tried Yama instead, a seat at Yama would be even harder to come by than it already is....so maybe I'm shooting myself in the foot by pointing this out. But fair is fair.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Local Sushi Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

If the number of Japanese patrons is a measure of the authenticity and quality for this small, attractive sushi space, then Sushi Yoshi is up to Osaka standards. We were the only non-Asians in the place, save a lone Caucasian woman who was there for take-out. I have long been an aficionado of sushi since my days in Osaka and have experienced some great sushi in the U.S. For the D.C. area, you can’t beat Sushi Yoshi. The lunch specials are a bargain. All of the fish and other seafood were fresh, the miso wonderful and authentic, oshitoshi delicate and flavorful and the rice was of high quality. I’d put Sushi Yoshi a bit below Yasuda in NYC (our favorite in the U.S.), but since it is our best local option they get a 5, even though the service was not very efficient. We returned yesterday (Friday) for lunch but were turned away since we did not have reservations. Couldn’t even get a stool at the bar. Saving seats for the local community? Perhaps, but that is their prerogative.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wednesday fishy taste-not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Rainy night on a Wednesday, only Asians in the place, and two non-Asians in the place: us. Thought this was a good sign--not! We must have gotten the old fishy tasting fish while the other patrons got the fresh sushi and sashimi. Maguro (tuna) was fishy tasting, so was the yellow tail. Tempura udon noodle soup had only noodles and broth-no extra goodies. Tempura on the side was batter heavy, not tempura light.

Out of Sapporo can draft. $19.00 for a very small bottle of cold sake.

Lots of better choices in the VA 'burbs-now we appreciate the good ones more!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not Sure How I Think About the Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

How to begin? Went late for dinner with my adult daughter. Place was filled with patrons at about 8:00pm~8:30pm – good sign. We were seated immediately and served promptly. Both of us ordered ala carte sushi and an appetizer, so we were surprised that we also received a small salad and bowl of miso soup; we didn’t think the menu said we would receive soup and salad, and the server didn’t mention it either. We said we ordered too much. The appetizers were good. The sushi arrived and the server told us which was which -- good. However, I thought the sushi rice was “mushy”; almost as if it was soaked in water or over-cooked. The fish tasted fine, but that evening, my stomach didn’t think so. So, the evening started well, but didn’t finish well. No complaint about the service as some previous reviews state. Atmosphere was good. I would give the place another try if in the area, but I’ll be skeptical.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Yoshi also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sushi Yoshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Yoshi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.