We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue grounds, but consider taking Metro (when it opens)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts

Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts
1551 Trap Rd, Vienna, VA 22182
703-255-1900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Vienna
Type: Parks, National Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The only national park dedicated to the performing arts, with spaces for indoor and outdoor performances.
Fulton, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice venue grounds, but consider taking Metro (when it opens)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Last week I saw Diana Ross in concert at the Filene Center. I understand that Wolftrap is more than just that, but consists of some smaller rooms amid a park. It will soon (if not already depending on when you read this) be served by a stop on Metro's Silver Line, adding an additional option to get there and perhaps relieving some automobile congestion. The problem is that a major traffic bottleneck can form on concerts, and delays can easily be over an hour forcing you to miss as much as half of the concert. Thankfully, me and my guest only missed a few songs of the opener. The staff was nice and professional, and a concert schedule is conveniently placed by the exits, and the Will Call lines were short. But as described arriving exiting can turn into a game of bumper cars that forced us to not move for 30 minutes. Consider taking the Metro's Silver Line stop, it will only be a 10 minute walk to the gate and consider driving through Tysons (Corner) if you want to shunpike and/or park at one of the Metro stations there or upstream if you're coming via I-495. Note that while there is a fee for the concert and grounds, walking on parts of the venue is free.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    57
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful site for a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We attended a concert here and had a great time. The venue is gorgeous. What I didn't like - the traffic leaving the venue. I think there should be more traffic control in the parking lot itself.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent place to see a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to two concerts here, the most recent was last night, and its really a great place to see a show. First, they let you bring your own food and drink into the venue. I highly suggest doing so, and having a picnic. There are plenty of places to set up other than the lawn. The lawn can get a bit crowded. We actually set up along the side of the grass parking lot and it was nice. Granted, the weather cooperated, but even so it would be a nice time. The venue itself is good. Both shows had great sound and seeing the stage wasn't a problem. I would definitely go here again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really Enjoy concerts at the Filne Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Living in Northern VA I try to make sure I go to Wolf Trap at least once a season for several reasons:

1) Small Venue, great sound! The giant wooden structure is built into the ground and the sound is great, whether you're in seats or in the lawn.

2) BYO Everything!! Its so nice that they allow you to bring a cooler in with food/beer/drinks/etc so you can actually have a picnic in the lawn while enjoying a show. You can't bring the cooler into the pavilion but several times I've just left my blanket/cooler in the lawn and it was there when I returned after the concert ended.

3) Friendly staff - most of the ushers and people working at Wolf Trap are friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the place.

The only downside is that it is a smaller venue so you're not going to get a really popular band to play there. If you can find some unknowns (like John Butler Trio - AWESOME band!!) or stars past their prime (like Steve Miller, Lionel Richie, etc) its well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,558 reviews 1,558 reviews
805 attraction reviews
Reviews in 307 cities Reviews in 307 cities
810 helpful votes 810 helpful votes
“Picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We got tickets to the Pixar concert. They are a bit expensive but I think that it is worth the experience. Its a nice place to go with friends and do a picnic.
They only have one screen which is not enough.
The location is not great. It's a 30 minutes drive from DC.
There are huge lines to get in.
Food and drinks are very expensive in the park.
Ravinia in Chicago is better organized.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.