We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful site for a concert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts

Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts
1551 Trap Rd, Vienna, VA 22182
703-255-1900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only national park dedicated to the performing arts, with spaces for indoor and outdoor performances.
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful site for a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We attended a concert here and had a great time. The venue is gorgeous. What I didn't like - the traffic leaving the venue. I think there should be more traffic control in the parking lot itself.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    67
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent place to see a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to two concerts here, the most recent was last night, and its really a great place to see a show. First, they let you bring your own food and drink into the venue. I highly suggest doing so, and having a picnic. There are plenty of places to set up other than the lawn. The lawn can get a bit crowded. We actually set up along the side of the grass parking lot and it was nice. Granted, the weather cooperated, but even so it would be a nice time. The venue itself is good. Both shows had great sound and seeing the stage wasn't a problem. I would definitely go here again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really Enjoy concerts at the Filne Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Living in Northern VA I try to make sure I go to Wolf Trap at least once a season for several reasons:

1) Small Venue, great sound! The giant wooden structure is built into the ground and the sound is great, whether you're in seats or in the lawn.

2) BYO Everything!! Its so nice that they allow you to bring a cooler in with food/beer/drinks/etc so you can actually have a picnic in the lawn while enjoying a show. You can't bring the cooler into the pavilion but several times I've just left my blanket/cooler in the lawn and it was there when I returned after the concert ended.

3) Friendly staff - most of the ushers and people working at Wolf Trap are friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the place.

The only downside is that it is a smaller venue so you're not going to get a really popular band to play there. If you can find some unknowns (like John Butler Trio - AWESOME band!!) or stars past their prime (like Steve Miller, Lionel Richie, etc) its well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,163 reviews
1,168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,179 helpful votes
“Picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We got tickets to the Pixar concert. They are a bit expensive but I think that it is worth the experience. Its a nice place to go with friends and do a picnic.
They only have one screen which is not enough.
The location is not great. It's a 30 minutes drive from DC.
There are huge lines to get in.
Food and drinks are very expensive in the park.
Ravinia in Chicago is better organized.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“IL VOLO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had very good seats to see Il Volo, three Italian youngsters (well now they're all over 20) who have sensational voices. You may have seen them on PBS. They are for real, and while we hope they stay together for a long time to come, each has a unique voice and personality which leads us to believe that they will eventually separate. Thus we felt privileged to see them perform live at Wolftrap. Anyone and EVERYONE there that evening will tell you just how very special it was. Thanks fellows, and we'll keep a light shiining on your futures.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts also viewed

 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.