We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit- will be back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts

Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts
1551 Trap Rd, Vienna, VA 22182
703-255-1900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Vienna
Type: National Parks, Parks, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only national park dedicated to the performing arts, with spaces for indoor and outdoor performances.
washingtondc
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First Visit- will be back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our first visit to Wolf Trap to see Il Volo. We visited the website first but really still had no idea fully what to expect as far are the venue itself goes. So here goes: casual dress- picnic tables so you can enjoy your food you have brought form home prior to the show. They do have food options there- the sit down places are pricy. Once you go into the area where they scan your tickets and search your bags, has food vendors too, Also gift shops. Ample bathrooms. You can take your seat 1/2 hour prior to the show unless you are on the lawn. We were in orchestra Row S great Seats. One disappointment: The website said no still pics or videos so we left the camera home. Once there, they announced there" no video- still pics ok- our camera phones could not take good pics from our seats. Great show tho!! I was in music heaven! Their lineup thru the season is a nice variety for all tastes.The sidewalk from Lot 4 closest to the Felene Ctr is a bit steep. We got there early as they state parking is limited. Leaving the lot afterwards was not a lengthy process- lots of staff to assist in all areas.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    59
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent night out, a few problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I went to the Filene center to see beauty and the beast. The show itself was absolutely perfect, I was highly entertained by a story I already knew well. The venue was pretty nice plenty of bathrooms, though there are still huge lines, and a few places to grab a drink or some food. Traffic leaving is the main issue, both on foot and in a car. We sat for at least 20 minutes before we could even start crawling out of the west lot. From there people seemed to think forming a double right turn lane to a single lane road was the best option. Other than that the place was great, wear some bug repellant and bring some water, virginia gets hot and humid!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Forget how magical and what a treasure we have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I attended Wolf Trap on Friday to see Gentleman's Rule and Under the Streetlamp. The perfect weather made a perfect backdrop to a national treasure with good music enjoyed by all. It had been a while since I had been to Wolf Trap and sitting there, enjoying the music made me realize how special the venue is. It is nice that food and beverage can be brought in for those so inclined. It is also nice that there are other options to purchase food. Both groups were excellent. The other thing that has always amazed me is how efficiently cars leave the parking. Everyone can find something at Wolf Trap and all should go see what a wonderful evening can be had!!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place, but can have issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Note:
Wolf Trap is comprised of several venues/areas, all wonderful, but most folks concentrate mainly on the Filene Center which has spring/summer open air concerts with lawn seating and indoor, but still open air, seating; and the Barns (Winter small indoor concerts). There are also many workshops, festivals, outdoor areas and tiny stages, etc. This review is primarily about the Filene center.

I've been going here for over 20 years - it is wonderful. You can bring in your picnic including adult beverages (perhaps the only Federal Park where you can do so), and store your cooler/picnic basket if you have seats inside. If you have lawn tickets, you can continue to picnic in place.

Most times, this is 5+ rating, but it depends on the artists and the crowd. I've had some of the best times and seen the best concerts of my life here (typically mid-popular artists - no mega-stars). For example, Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers with Edie Brickell was superb last year.

I've also sat on the lawn during concerts such as Widespread Panic, a great band, but everyone around us was smoking one type of smoke or another, which I don't mind as long as it is not all over me, but we got smoked out once the sun set and the docents stopped enforcing the Federal No-Smoking rules of Wolftrap. My understanding was that the place was left covered with trash the next day.

In summary, if it is artists you like, and you believe it will draw your type of crowd, plan on a 5+ experience (depending on weather). If you think the crowd is not for you - stay away - especially as management change has encouraged a different crowd than in the past.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent place to enjoy music.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The landscaping and maintenance of Wolftrap cannot be compared in the area. Sit on the lawn or go for a seat inside....either is a great experience. Parking is a nightmare for sold out events but that would be my only limited negative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.