We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Maple Ave. W, Vienna, VA 22180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vienna
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Served its purpose”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a long day of traveling highways and byways of West Virginia, Maryland and Virginia we just wanted a place to sleep and grab a shower before we headed in to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival that wasn't to far from a Metro station that fit our budget and this fit the bill. Though once we saw the place I commented to my girlfriend "check for body outline tape on the floor"

Being a disabled traveler that uses a wheelchair however it was not the greatest of choices. My chair was barely able to fit between the bed and as for the shower I ended up doing a sponge bath because I was not able to use it.

As for the continental breakfast...I recommend the McDonald's down the street.

Next time we go Washington we plan on spending the extra money for a nicer place.

Room Tip: Not a good choice for disabled travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    12
    10
    14
See reviews for
10
16
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. Yes, it's cheap and if you are willing to deal with getting locked out of your room, no water pressure, ripped up carpets, and a hard as wood bed, you're golden. I came back to my room late one evening after helping a friend move and my key didn't work. Went to the front desk, told them the issue, they did something on their system, and didn't offer any explanation. The complementary breakfast consisted of orange juice that wasn't chilled and pre packaged little debbie type items. I tried a doughnut but ended up throwing it out after one bite. The rooms appear to have been constructed in the 1970's without any upgrades. Carpeting was ripped up in the room. Crude repairs to the walls. The shower (which had absolutely no pressure and would go from luke warm to scalding hot without warning) had strange rust spots all over the tub. I felt worse waking up after sleeping in the bed than I did from helping a friend move their entire home. The TV's are probably the newest piece in the rooms and those appear to be late 1990's.
Moral of the story is you are totally going to get what you pay for. I would never stay here again even if the room was free. Having a quality rest in a comfortable bed with a nice shower in the morning is worth the extra expense.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Was awakened at 8 am by loud banging on door. Ignored, and then received a phone call from the front desk demanding my name. I was told I had "never checked in." After explaining that I did sign their little piece of paper, the banging at the door was back. After my phone conversation was over the banging at the door returned. I opened the door to a woman who simply said "front desk say check rooms, no person here" After explaining my dissatisfaction with the current situation, the only apology I was given was "sorry, ok? sorry"

Would not recommend to anyone, very poor experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Yikes. Shirtless people wandering around drinking alcohol in the middle of the day. Smelly rooms with marks on the walls. Hair in the bathroom and beds, and stains on the sheets. Staff that were indifferent at best. Not a good experience at all, even for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

There is no question that the rates at the Wolf Trap Hotel are highly competitive. This, however should not excuse the overall very poor condition of the premises and the unfriendly and disengaged attitude by the front-desk staff. The complimentary breakfast buffet, while "nice-to-have" does little to improve the value for money. Even minor management changes would greatly add to making the stay more welcoming.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. Rooms on the ground floor are most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had a really nice time at the Wolf Trap Hotel. Not to mention I absolutely loved the cheap prices. The other cool part is I didn't have my rental car so, it was great knowing that is was only 1/2 mile from the nearest bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is a decent nights stay and definitely the most economical in town. Rooms and lobby is old and it has continental breakfast. Has nice restaurants near by which is a plus and is close to Vienna metro station. Beds are normal and little noisy AC/heater was a issue but since a deep sleeper and was tired,didn't matter much. Wifi could have been a bit faster since I'm used to watching a movie and go to sleep. Overall not a bad place for just the nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Address: 430 Maple Ave. W, Vienna, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a clean and reliable place to stay in Vienna Virginia, the charming Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel is the perfect choice. Located close to the Washington DC Metro with easy access to the Wolf Trap Performing Arts Center and Tyson's Corner Center shopping mall, you'll enjoy free continental breakfast and complimentary wireless internet all at an affordable price. With friendly service and free parking, you won't find a better deal in the heart of Vienna Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Wolftrap Hotel Vienna
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel VA - Fairfax County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.