We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitor to Wolftrap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Maple Ave. W, Vienna, VA 22180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vienna
Riga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Return visitor to Wolftrap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am a frequent customer of the Wolf Trap and have stayed there multiple times. It is a clean, safe, motel in an outstanding location in the middle of Vienna. It is not new and it is not fancy. If you want that, pay $230 a night and stay somewhere more upscale. Do not book a budget option and expect the Ritz. For my part, I will continue to look for value for my dollar and stay here. The staff is friendly and helpful and has been great in providing advice on finding things around the DC area. Vienna is a nice walkable town with many restaurants, grocery stores and bike trails in the immediate vicinity. The Wolf Trap is a winner if you are looking for a decent place to stay without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    13
    8
    14
See reviews for
10
16
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

have stayed there several times over the years/this is very close to the metro and is so easy to get there. we use it everytime we want to visit dc/room is dated but clean with coffee maker,micro,and fridge in room.didnt bother with provided breakfast because we knew it would be minimal but ate every morning in room using the micro. as an older female i felt very safe at night as it is in a nice area. altogether an economical,clean place to stay/very quite also

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My family and I recently stayed here on a weekend trip to DC. It was very clean with newly updated linens and a new fridge and microwave in room. It is about an half an hour to DC and for the price it was perfect. The hotel was quiet and the room was a good size. The breakfast consists of bagels (with cream cheese and jelly), donuts, fruit, orange juice, and coffee- so nothing spectacular but not too terrible either. For the price it was a great value and we will stay here again. Also, the restaurant next door was VERY good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this motel in June to save a few dollars and it definitely not worth the savings. I was in Vienna for a family emergency not on vacation so I was looking for a reasonable place to stay. Though the price was cheap it was not worth it. Let's start with the breakfast. You have a choice of a bagel or donut. There isn't even a place to toast the bagels. It would have been nice to have the option of atleast a piece of toast. My daughter only drinks water which shouldn't be a hard thing to get at a breakfast. She had to get her water from the bathroom faucet. When I asked if they had a pitcher of water they said no.

As for the room, it was disgusting. There were holes in the walls, the bathroom looked like it was never cleaned, and the carpeting was gross to walk on. The towels were very thin and small. It was just large enough to wrap my hair after I got out of the shower. The beds were ok but the pillows were so flat. Even 2 pillows were not enough to sleep on. I am glad my daughter brought her pillow from home so I could take 1 of hers. It didn't even seem like housekeeping cleaned the room during the day. It just looked like a couple of things were moved by the bathroom sink and that they made the beds. Everything else still seemed how I left it in the morning. For example, I had ironed my clothes in the evening and left the iron out. When I came back to the room at the end of the day the iron was still sitting by the bathroom sink with the cord unravelled.

There also was barely any light in the room. Some of the light bulbs were out and the ones that weren't gave off barely any light. If I was able to give this motel a lower score I would. I know the saying is you get what you pay for but I don't think I even got that much. The only think good about the place is the location. My suggestion, stay away.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

At first I had my doubts, place looked like a dormitory. We were on a motorcycle trip running low on fuel and found the Wolf Trap by chance. I was surprised after checking in our room. It was weathered but clean. If you are used to 5 star, go on down the road. It served our needs great, place to shower, get a good nights sleep, and catch the Metro into DC to tour the city.Metro station is a mile away, easy walk, jump on and your in DC in 30 min or so. Good pizza across the street at Joes, good smoothies at Red Mango.

Room Tip: Try to get first floor, we were on third with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the corner room by the breeze way on the ground floor. That was a mistake. The maids pushing their carts sounded like they were coming through the walls. There are some very obvious signs of the flooding. The facing was coming off the door inside the bathroom. The flooring in the bathroom was buckled up.The bath tub had chips knocked out of it. The carpet outside the bathroom had been wet and yucky at some point. Someone had tried very poorly to do a repair job. Compared to the hotel we stayed in the night before this room was very small. It said it had high speed internet. If it was high speed I wouldn't want any slower. Reception was really poor for a fairly new laptop. It definately needed updating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWTH22180, General Manager at Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Sharon A.,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. While our property is dated, we do strive to provide clean accommodations. We are working on renovating areas of the hotel and I do hope that the next time your are in the Vienna area you will consider staying with us a second time.

Sincerely,

Leo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stay at the Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel when we go up to the DC area. It is nothing special....kind of like a 1950's motel but it is very clean and quiet and the price is very reasonable. Good location near Metro and major roads. Staff is always polite and helpful and the continental breakfast they have in the mornings is good.
It's not like staying at The Fairmont or anything, but it sure is a lot less expensive......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Address: 430 Maple Ave. W, Vienna, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a clean and reliable place to stay in Vienna Virginia, the charming Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel is the perfect choice. Located close to the Washington DC Metro with easy access to the Wolf Trap Performing Arts Center and Tyson's Corner Center shopping mall, you'll enjoy free continental breakfast and complimentary wireless internet all at an affordable price. With friendly service and free parking, you won't find a better deal in the heart of Vienna Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Wolftrap Hotel Vienna
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel VA - Fairfax County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.