We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, rundown motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel to your Saves list
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Maple Ave. W, Vienna, VA 22180   |  
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vienna
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced, rundown motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here just one night over the summer. The room was very run down inside, old furniture, dirty/torn carpet, and outdated bathroom. This really caught me by surprise since the price wasn't cheap compared to other brand-name hotels.There really wasn't a front office; it was more of a converted motel room with a computer and desk. The free breakfast consisted of stale donuts and bagels, with some watered-down coffee and OJ.

One saving grace was that the rooms were at least clean and the "front desk" folk were nice.

The room rate was ridiculous for the quality of the hotel. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolftrap22180, General Manager at Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out and writing a review for the Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel. I'm sorry your experience left you somewhat disappointed. Our staff here takes pride in their work and while our property is a little dated, like you stated we do provide clean and comfortable rooms and the location of our property cannot be beat. During your stay we were under construction as we were remodeling our new Lobby/Front Desk which is adjacent to our new Breakfast area . I was glad to hear our staff treated you kindly; we do take all comments and concerns seriously and will work to improve our breakfast selection in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you will consider returning back to the Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel the next time you are in the area.

Thanks,

Leo Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    14
    10
    16
See reviews for
12
19
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

There's a shortage of decent budget accommodation in the metro DC area, and the Wolf Trap is a good choice if you're on a budget. It's about a mile from Vienna Metro station which takes about 40 minutes to downtown DC (and the all day parking does now accept non-US credit cards on exit).
The Wolf Trap itself is a typical 70s motel, with external corridors on 3 floors, but generally quite well maintained. There's a fair bit of traffic noise from Route 123, but it's acceptable, and as the only heating is through the room a/c units, if arrive late on a cold or snowy night (as I did), the rooms can be cold, but soon warm up reasonably well. Breakfast is simple (bagels, donuts and fruit) but adequate and included in the rates. The high speed internet access works OK and is free but sometimes needs resetting by reception to work. And there's a terminal in reception at which you can print off airline boarding passes, etc.

Room Tip: Those furthest away from the road will be quietest (but they may not spot a request on your booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have been staying at the Vienna Wolf Trap every time I have visited the Washington DC area since early November of 2009. It is the only accommodations I use. Their rates are extremely reasonable (sometimes I stay for month-long periods) and every member of staff that I have encountered has been amiable and professional. Any issues which may arise, such as problems with internet, etc. have always... been speedily remedied by the front office. The Wolf Trap is located in a safe, clean suburban area which offers several restaurant choices as well as grocery and convenient stores, all within walking distance. Public transportation is also easily accessible. Although these accommodations cannot be considered "luxury," if you can be satisfied with a clean, comfortable room in a tranquil area, then this place should be your first pick.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here for the final night of our holiday, the location was great, only 1 mile from the metro station with trains going into Washington DC. Also only about 20 mins from Dullas Airport wher we were flying out of.
The hotel was tatty at the best. Laminate broken off the doors, tape on window cracks and towels like sandpaper. There were cigarette burns on the bathand everything was very worn. It was clean
, we checked the sheets and pillows. We did stay only because we couldnt find anything else nearby. We really wished we had researched the location before leaving the UK.
It was probably a nice hotel in the 70s, shame it hasn't been looked after as the location is great

Room Tip: Dont'stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

In all honesty, we actually didn't stay. The exterior was run-down and a bit sketchy, but we decided to try the room. I've easily stayed in over 100 hotels in my life and have NEVER seen one in this state! Room odor, holes in the walls, floor "spongy" to walk on, mold in bathroom (that had signs of flooding/water damage), it was absolutely gross! I looked as close as I did out of morbid curiosity. My wife said the odor of the room lingered in her nose for some time after we left. Much to their credit, the office staff were friendly and never questioned our room refusal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I was visiting Washingon DC for spring break, and wanted a hotel that was cheap and not crowded, and I found it. This hotel was very well priced, but it wasnt very convinient. There was alot of traffic due to construction ( i know is not the hotels fault) so it took us twice as much to get to the hotel. The room was very clean, and big. My boyfriend with a wheelchair was very confortable and was able to move around, even though it was a regular room (they only have 1 handicap accesible room). He also took his Service dog with him and they were very accomodating to that as well. The "continental breakfast" wasnt much but bagels and donuts from Dunkins with coffee, tea and juice. I did not eat breakfast because when i got there there wasnt much left (breakfast was from 6-10 am). Overall I wiuld stay here again, but I would find out if there is any construction going on at the time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011 via mobile

Before I booked this hotel I read reviews on a few different sites. The consensus was the hotel serves it's purpose - a place to sleep. The non-smoking room smelled like an old room someone had smoked in. I believe the smoke seeps through the badly insulated walls. It's not overpowering though. The walls have holes and bad patching jobs all over. The lighting in the room is bad. The heater worked a little too well so I had to turn it down to 60 to keep the room comfy. The bathroom was surprisingly clean. It appeared cleaner than the room actually. I would recommend this hotel of you aren't interested in very many amenities and just want to sleep. Its in a great town but on a busy intersection. I would suggest ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel

Address: 430 Maple Ave. W, Vienna, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a clean and reliable place to stay in Vienna Virginia, the charming Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel is the perfect choice. Located close to the Washington DC Metro with easy access to the Wolf Trap Performing Arts Center and Tyson's Corner Center shopping mall, you'll enjoy free continental breakfast and complimentary wireless internet all at an affordable price. With friendly service and free parking, you won't find a better deal in the heart of Vienna Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Wolftrap Hotel Vienna
Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel VA - Fairfax County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vienna Wolf Trap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.