We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hills Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hills Inn to your Saves list
Hills Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 South Sixth Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Room was super clean with nice beds. Refrigerator and microwave worked well. Continental
breakfast is simple, but adequate. Distance to Mount Rushmore is 50+ miles, but scenery
traveling there is outstanding. A quiet little town with a beautiful walking trail by the river. Even
a waterfall. I found our room to be quiet. Rooms are inexpensive, you can't expect a
Hilton. As almost every review has said, Wally is so helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
40
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There are a lot of newer places to stay in Hot Springs such as the Stay USA. Yes, the man at the front desk of this hotel was very nice, but it didn't make up for the deficiencies I experienced.

1. The rooms are extremely small and basic. The old style TV (not flat screen) makes the room feel even more crowded. 2. The air conditioner is located in the rear of the room in a sort of hallway. It takes quite a long time to cool down the sleeping area, while the hallway bathroom get chilled quickly. The motel is the old fashioned ring of rooms around a black asphault parking area, so the rooms get hot when the sun is out. 3. There was no hot water at night or in the morning when I took a shower. The water was tepid, not hot. 4. There is no hair dryer in the room. 5. The "breakfast" was minimal with just a few cheap selections.

The outdoor pool is in the center of the parking lot. It is not heated by hot springs; it is just a regular pool. The room was clean and there is free mini-golf. No exercise room. You have to get in your vehicle to drive to the downtown/riverside area. Another reviewer wrote about a field of grass with deer- I don't know what he was referring to. My corner room only had a front window and it looked out to the parking lot. I attempted to walk around the other building to see this supposed grassy area but there was a fence and I couldn't even see anything but the hotel building.

Yes, the man at the front desk is very nice. I feel bad writing a negative review, but I feel the need to balance the other fantastic postings (which I can't understand and fell mislead by). I'd rather pay a few $$ more and have a hot shower and a bigger room.

Also - the town of Hot Springs is in a state of decline. There are very few restaurants or shops still open. The Mammoth site is worth seeing, but the town is not worth staying overnight in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Wally is very personable but we were disappointed in our stay. We could hear the TV in the next room and anything that happened outside. I wound up stepping outside at about 11pm one night to tell a moron to find somewhere else to chat with his friend online as with the bed being right next to the window I could hear everything he said. The rooms are very small and it was the smallest bathroom I've seen in a hotel/motel. There is no counter space to place anything. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable so sleeping was difficult. Something else to consider is Hot Springs isn't close to any attractions other than Wind Cave Park so you will be driving quite a distance to the other attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This motel just received the 2014 Tripadvisor award. Wally, as everyone else has said, is a fantastic owner and person. He is full of tips and stories, including history. When we left after a four day stay it felt as if you were saying goodbye to a family member!

We stayed at Hills Inn for a family reunion during May 2014. We reserved six rooms and Wally gave us the second level with all rooms next to each other. This portion of the building is built into a hill so four of the second level rooms had both a front and back door. It made "visiting" very fun as we could leave the back doors open and go back and forth between the rooms. There is also a small patio area with an overhang in the back so even if it rained we could visit outside. We even had Mule Deer visitors every morning much to the delight of the kids. The front of the second level has benches outside each room to encourage socializing also. We had our morning activity planning sessions in this area while eating breakfast and drinking our coffee.

The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. The fridge worked very well, even the freezer. It actually froze our cooler ice block. The kids swam in the pool twice, but it was a little chilly as Wally had just opened it. Yet.....it was the only outdoor pool at the various motels/hotels in the area that was open!

Breakfast was served in the main office which included a small separate room with tables and chairs. There were two kinds of bread, bagels, donuts (2 types), and cereal (Fruit Loops and Wheaties), along with jelly and cream cheese. Orange juice, milk, coffee, and tea are also provided. There are also microwaves, fridges, and coffee facilities in each room.

If you wish to have a fun, clean, low cost place to stay with an outdoor swimming pool this is the place. Of course, Wally and his wonderful personality add to the experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Room was very clean, comfortable for 2 adults and 2 golden retrievers. Guest laundry was a plus after being on the road. Fantatic walking trail, along a creek. Plenty of grass for walking dogs. We walked the trail down to Gus' Best ice cream, nice walk, good ice cream! No pet waste bag dispenser on the property and none along the trail, but we always have extra bags so wasnt a issue w us. Wally was a gem, helpful and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here on a cross country road trip. Gateway to Mount Rushmore! This is like a motel, as are most of the places to stay in this town. Outside is a little plain looking but once you walk in the front door the owner(I presume) is extremely personable and very helpful as far as travel, restaurant, etc, directions. He is terrific and the reason I would stay here again. We were very tired and very happy to pull up the car to the room door. The room was very clean, plenty of room and refrigerator and microwave. Not fancy tho but for the price I was very happy! Breakfast was basic, cereal, donuts, coffee, and friendly talk with the owner.

Room Tip: Ground floor unless you like to walk up stairs when you are pooped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We recently had a two night stay here and would recommend it to anyone. The owner was so friendly and helpful, he helped us route plan to make sure we got all our sightseeing done. The rooms were clean and spacious and the chairs in them were so comfortable. Very good value rooms, nice breakfast each morning. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hills Inn

Address: 640 South Sixth Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.