We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget is the operative word” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hills Inn

Save Saved
You added Hills Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hills Inn
640 South Sixth Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play, 3 Deals!!
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Hot Springs
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget is the operative word”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The owner was really helpful and she did everything possible to make me welcome. But the place is definitely a budget place. Hard bed, small space, minimal breakfast. Location is great. Really close to Custer park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
30
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on our way to South Dakota and what a pleasant evening we had. This is a friendly, family owned establishment. The owners also own a mini-golf course on the property that is one of the most challenging I've ever played. The hotel is also very close to the Freedom Trail Walkway which is a great walking trail to downtown Hot Springs. We would definately recommend this Budget Host Inn as a great place to stay if you are on your way to the Black Hills or Mt. Rushmore. We did not use the swimming pool but if looked like a very nice pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend to run the LeanHorse 50km and to help a friend running the LeanHorse 100miler. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the AC worked great on a hot stuffy weekend, the owner, Wally, is friendly and concerned with the quality of your stay. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The refrigerator and microwave allowed for easy cooking/storing of meals. The pool was refreshing for a soak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We were in town to visit the Mammoth Site, and needed a place to stay. I went by reviews an Tripadvisor and chose this place. I really wish I'd waited until I saw the place before committing. While the owner was very nice and helpful, I felt the the motel room itself was pretty run-down.

We booked a room with two queen beds, which had a back door we were able to unload our stuff at. That entrance was a bit sketchy, at best. There were prickly cactus in the gravel-and-grass "parking area", and the back door also didn't seal well, which was disconcerting given the big dead black bugs we saw outside! I really didn't feel comfortable leaving our car outside that entrance at all - after unloading, we moved it back into the main lot. Towels were meh. Kind of old looking and low quality.

On the upside, our kids enjoyed the pool and the beds were quite comfortable. All in all, okay but I'd spring for something nicer next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

When we first arrived, I was concerned because I thought I would get more for the price I was going to pay (more than other hotels on our trip, but I discovered it's just the going rate for this town during tourist season), but everything was fine. I had made a mistake and reserved the wrong night, but Wally took care of everything for us and even gave us the online rate we had reserved. The room was of average size and had all the amenities. The free breakfast was sparse, but adequate. The internet worked fine. The best part was the pool! It was small, but the cleanest we had seen on the trip and the kids had a great time. I would stay here again. There is a DQ right across the street - perfect for a late night, summer snack.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for one evening in transit across the Plains states. As other reviewers mentioned, it may look a little "basic" at first glance, but don't let that put you off. It is a very clean, well maintained property with *wonderful beds*. I have stayed at "major name brand" (i.e., much more expensive!) hotels on business that did not have beds as comfortable as this Budget Host Inn. The outdoor pool is clean and comfortable and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back. If you're looking for a great lodging value in the Hot Springs, SD area, THIS IS THE PLACE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I spent two weeks here for work and would come back again to stay here on vacation. The hotel was extremely clean and well maintained. Located close to everything in town, and along a nice walking/jogging path. The new beds were very nice and firm. Continental breakfast had a good selection, including coffee, juice, cereal, toast, bagels, and donuts. Wally, the hotel owner, was always very welcoming and helpful. In fact I don't know when he sleeps because he was in the front office when I went to bed and still there when I woke up in the morning. Our crew also had alot of fun playing puttputt golf at the golf course right next to the hotel also.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hills Inn

Address: 640 South Sixth Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.