We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn by the River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn by the River to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   602 West River Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Tustin, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Price was good for what it was. Older motel - shower was kind of weak but great service. Breakfast was pretty good, there was a waffle maker. It's about 40 minutes away from Mt. Rushmore so that was nice. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during Sept. 2013. We first noticed it on our drive through town and noticed it was on the non-road side of the creek and paved trail. It is very handy to access the town, trail, waterfall and stores. I highly recommend it. Hot Springs is worth staying in and seeing!

There is a 2 story main building and also 3 cabins adjacent to the main building. My wife asked me to ask about the cabins. They would be quieter and more isolated from the main building.
It was a wonderful decision. The cabin has 2 rooms and a bath, a main LR w/ bunk bed, futon, table w/ benches, refrig, microwave, coffee maker, TV and ceiling fan. The BR has AC for the cabin, a queen bed and a bath with a nice size shower.

The cabins appear somewhat new and are clean with knotty pine interiors and fun interior doors with rope latches.

The Manager Mr. Ahmedur Chowdhury is very, very accomodating and willing to please. He pointed out restaurants, bakery, bars that are within a short walk. It was nice to get out of our car and walk everywhere. He always had a great smile and greeting for us. We wish we had more time to stay.

A nice, adequate, free, continental breakfast is available in the room adjacent to the Lobby.

Room Tip: I would recommend the SMOKE FREE cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment we checked in we knew we had made the right decision. This motel is situated in the centre of Hot Springs within walking distance of bars and restaurants. Our room was situated on the second floor (all non smoking rooms are). The room was spacious and very clean, included fridge and microwave, i would have liked a coffee maker. The bathroom including bath was pristine and a very good shower. The complementary breakfast included cereal, toast, muffins, bagels and waffles, as well as tea coffee and juice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We cancelled a previous hotel reservation we had made in advance when we saw this place. Located overlooking the river and walking path, in close proximity to the shops and pubs, visitor center, and Evans Plunge--we could visit it all without driving. The price was great for a clean updated room with comfortable beds in such a great location too. The desk clerk was helpful and even let us check in early, as the room was available, so we could get started on our sight-seeing.

Linda (Denver, CO)

Room Tip: The rooms all overlook the river, but the second floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently, we were on a 5-week vacation trip, so we had a wide variety of hotel service. The front desk staff was very friendly, and knowledgeable. When ever, they noticed us, they always asked how we were and if everything was OK. Our room came with a continental breakfast. We got more. The food choice was a nice variety and included extras. No other hotel offered soft margarine for the waffles--most had a brick of cold hard margarine which wouldn't spread. Syrup was on every table, not just one bottle you had to wait in line to use. No one else offered peanut butter and other "delights".

Room Tip: The hotel is close to the black hills, but a comfortable distance away from the crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was not expecting a nice place to stay knowing other motels in the area, however, this place was very, very clean and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and comfortable. You can tell the owner takes his guests stay very personally. The continental breakfast was also very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night during busy Labor Day weekend. Rooms are a tad tired but very clean and comfortable. In this price range I don't think you could do better. We asked for a quiet room and were given an end room which was indeed quiet. Handy walk to town and restaurants. Manager very friendly and complementary breakfast whilst modest adds to the excellent value of this place. Air con worked well. Ground floor units available and a very clean pool provided.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn by the River

Address: 602 West River Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn by the River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn by the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.